Showing posts with label Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Reviews. Show all posts

Thursday, 18 September 2014

My Top Tips On Buying : The Right Pair Of Running Leggings JD Sports Review...


Last week I was happy to be asked by JD Sports if I would like to pick some running leggings. As a runner you can never have too many exercise clothes, especially as I am onto a new fitness regime, trying to work out 6 days a week! As I am a member of a gym I needed some fitness leggings suitable for gym work, spinning classes and the occasional run.


 Trying them out on a Parkrun 5km race...


As am am a Nike fan I picked these 2 pairs of lovely logo tights.

NikeLeg A See Just Do It Tights (top pair)
  • These womens Leg- A- See leggings from Nike come in a black colour option with an all over discrete pink in the stretch. 
  • Features include large JUST DO IT branding on the leg, tonal swoosh branding on the thigh and the "Just Do It" slogan on the elasticated waistband.
  • 57% Cotton/32% Polyester/11% Elastane , Product Care: Machine Washable
  • Sizes ~ XS,S,M,L,XL..
  • Price ~ £30.00
NikeLeg-A-See Logo (bottom pair)
  • The Nike Leg-A-See Logo Women's Leggings feature a screen print on a sweat-wicking, stretch cotton blend for style and comfort. 
  • Featuring Dri-FIT fabric to wick sweat away and help keep you dry and comfortable and an elastic waistband for a snug, comfortable fit.
  • Dri-FIT 57% organic cotton/32% recycled polyester/11% elastane , Product Care: Machine Washable.
  • Sizes ~ XS,S,M,L,XL...
  • £30.00



I have brought a lot of running leggings over the years. Some great and some just not right for the job!! Here are a few of my ideas on choosing the right pair of running leggings for you~

My Top Tips On Buying : The Right Pair Of Running Leggings

1. Do you carry a key? ~ If so make sure your leggings have a pocket. Some leggings have a little inside pocket at the front, some have a zip pocket at the back and some do not have a pocket. I find the back zip pockets are the most secure for keeping your key nice and safe.

2. Branded or none branded?~ Although I like some of the top brands running leggings I find that some of sport shops home brand leggings are the most comfortable. They usually cater for all my needs e.g pocket, lycra, comfort and are always a lot cheaper than the branded ones.

3. Buy leggings for the coming season~ Think about buying leggings for the coming season, before we know it the cold weather will be upon us and cycle shorts will be packed away for another year!!

4. Will the leggings stay up?~ I have brought many a pair of running leggings that feel great when in the gym but run fast in them and they keep sliding down! ~ I find the best kind of legging have a elastic waist and a cord through the waist too so you can tie them as well. This way you wont have to hold your leggings up in a race ( been there and bought the t-shirt many a times).

5. Which leggings suit you best? ~ Think about the style of leggings you like to wear when running. Cycle shorts, Knee, mid calf or ankle? My favourite for running is usually mid calf. These are a great length for all seasons and I can just wear my longer socks with them in Winter.

6. Think of a set amount of money you want to spend on a pair ~ Look for leggings in the price range you want to spend and stick to this, give or take a few pounds.

7. Try before you buy ~ If buying running leggings for the first time, a new brand you want to try or shops own brand, always try before you buy. Once you know what size you are, and which brand you prefer you can then buy them without trying as you know how they fit. I buy 10's,12's and medium in most running clothes but had to buy 16 in a top brand once to get the style I like to fit... (not that I buy this brand any more) *vain!?!* lol

8. Bend and stretch~  Once trying the leggings on, bend the knees, stretch, jump run on spot!! Make sure they fit nicely do not slip down or lumpy creases at knees. Find a nice comfy pair that will be great to run in.

9.) Lycra, lycra, lycra~  (My favourite word in sports clothes!!) Leggings with high lycra contains in are the best, the material springs back to shape once you put them on and keep you dry when running fast by drawing the sweat away. Lycra will be a tighter fit so creates less wind resistance. My p.b's are always set in Lycra!!

10. Make sure leggings are not to thin material ~ Make sure the leggings are not thin material that you can see through. Especially around the bum area!! Eek... Say no more ;)



About this post-

I got sent these 2 pair of leggings to review.

All thoughts are my own honest opinion and I did not get paid for this post ...


Thursday, 11 September 2014

Peach Blossom Spring Dress : Joe Browns Dress Review...

When we were on holiday a few weeks ago I received a email from the lovely people at Joe Browns. They asked me if I would like to style one of their beautiful and unique items of clothing from their new Autumn/ Winter range. Yes please, I love their collections ..I picked this fabulous vintage floral style Peach blossom peach spring dress. The new in range of Shangri-La and Sovereignty are beautiful and inspiring collection. 


Where does the time go!?!  I can not believe we celebrated our 18 year wedding Anniversary last week. Eek 18 years have just flown by. As we had just come off our holidays we decided to leave it till last weekend to have a night to ourselves and go on a date night <3...


Luckily for me, my son took delivery of my beautiful dress when we were away. So on our date night I went out in style...


About The Peach Blossom Spring Dress
  • These unusual colours work so well together and are reminiscent of beautiful vintage wallpaper.
  • Approx Length: 92cm
  • Sizes 8,10,12,14,16,18.
  • Print: 100% Cotton. Lace: 70% Cotton, 30% Polyamide.
  • 30 degrees machine wash.
  • £34.95
  • Standard delivery to the UK and Eire £4.00
  • The majority of our items will be delivered within 2 days from despatch. 
  • They aim to despatch within 2 working days.
  • Next Day delivery to the UK £8.00
  • Order before 3pm and delivery will be attempted the next working day. 
  • Delivery to Europe £8.00, Rest of World £12.00
  • Delivery timescales will vary depending on which country you reside in. 
  • FREE Returns
  • Returns are free (UK only).

This dress looks beautiful and feels very flattering and comfortable when wearing. I teamed it up with a simple plain pair of brown wedges as the dress pattern itself is lovely and fancy. In Winter I will team it up with leggings or thick woolly tights, a chunky cardigan and long boots..

Here is my Autumn/Winter wish list in how I would style this dress up with other items from Joe Brown in cooler weather~


Brown  leggings | Peach Blossom Springs Dress | Brown leather riding boots | Mustard chunky knit cardigan | Tan X-body bag...

I am always looking for style tips too..

How would you wear this dress in cooler months to come?

  About this post-

I got sent a dress of my choice from Joe Browns
All thoughts are my own honest opinion and I did not get paid for this post ...

vine

Tuesday, 9 September 2014

Tom Tom Cardio Watch Review...

It has been a busy Summer with lots of fun days out, holidays and the last minute rush, buying school uniform. One thing that did suffer over the holidays was my running (As usual).... Now that the children are back to school I am back on the road and training up for a new goal.

Hopefully London marathon again!?!

 Fingers crossed!!

Everyone who entered the ballot all find out if we are 'in' or not in less than a months time..

A few weeks ago, you may remember I was very lucky to test out Tom Tom cardio watch thanks to The Running Bug and Tom Tom.

So far I am loving using my watch. Little things keep impressing me,  as I discover new thing along the way. Like today I wiped my finger across the screen to wipe some water off from my sports bottle and the screen lights up!! A simple way to see the time in the dark, and a cool feature. 



So far here are my thoughts~

Positives

The built in heart rate monitor is a genius feature. Without the additional strap across the chest it uses a built in sensor on the back of your watch. This bright light with lots of technical wizardry on the inside of your watch {shown on top picture} links to your wrist to take your pulse and measure your heart beat. It has helped me gauge my effort accordingly.

The menus are easy to use, change screen features, pause and restart. Everything is a swipe up down left right. Run history, settings etc. A lot less fiddly perfect for me!

From when you set your TomTom to Run it finds the satellite really quickly. My husband has an older model Nike TomTom and he is forever moaning it has not found satellite. The run he has done has not been recorded. Most annoying. No such trouble with this little beauty Satellite first time every time. It has had no trouble in woodland either. Which at then end of the day, is the point of these things record your run. Even at my level, you like to see your progress correctly so an accurate route and time record is essential . This is the best I have ever known for that.

I am enjoying lots of different display functions when running, including distance, calories you've burned, pace, miles, heartbeat.

The watch is waterproof to 50m/165ft, if you do get caught in a down pour no need to worry about your watch getting wet. It feels nice and light on the wrist and fits perfect.

Suitable for outside runs, treadmill or you can use just as a stopwatch. On the treadmill you have an option to calibrate after your workout to ensure accuracy.

The TomTom My Sports website, where all your information on your runs can be uploaded to me is a really good website, with an easy to follow layout. Great place for studying all your runs, time, distance, pace per mile and even strides per minute.

You can set up the watch for all your training goals too (distance, time calories), intervals, laps, zones, and races.

I am still scratching the surface to be fair. I am sure in the next few months, my children permitting, my TomTom and me will be seeing a lot more of each other?! I will post an update if I find anything else useful.

Negatives

The watch comes with a lead to charge your watch via computer but no mains charger. I use a Google Chrome laptop which is great for most things but does not charge watches very good so a charge that plugs into the mains would have been great. Ways around this ~ most of our mobile phones come with leads where you can unplug the wire on the plug. The dock lead fits inside, so you can charge your watch at mains.

When using the dock lead for the computer for the first time my watch did stick into the cradle and was hard to wriggle lose. It seems ok now but sometimes becomes a little fiddly to remove from the lead. Practise really does help with this.


I love to see stats, this is a great way to see if your improving. Here are a few of my stats on Saturdays run..

Please note : the following photos came out a bit blurred from taking close up pictures of a computer screen...


I am liking the fact you can analyse your run once home. I am very keen on improving my heart rate and strides per minute so these are my favourite features on the website to keep an eye on.





About the Tom Tom Runner Cardio GPS Watch
  • Built-in Heart Rate Monitor.
  • Get accurate heart rate information without the need fora separate chest strap.
  • Train in your optimal Heart Rate Zone. 
  • Select a zone to match your training goal and always know whether you need to speed up or slow down.
  • Track your distance, time, pace, speed and calories burnt as you run.
  • Run with an ultra-slim, lightweight watch.
  • Navigate menus easily with One-Button Control.
  • Come with desk dock.
  • Comes with user guide.
  • Colour to order~ white.
  • £219.99


Now I can't wait to race again ...



About this post-

I got sent a TomTom watch to test out and review

All thoughts are my own honest opinion and I did not get paid for this post ...


Saturday, 30 August 2014

British Athletics With Sainsbury's At Birmingham Grand Prix...


Last Sunday we got the chance to attend British Athletics with Sainsbury's  as part of the Summer Series Diamond League Athletics Event in Birmingham. My Hubby and my Boys love their Athletics and have attended Diamond League events before, for me and my daughter it was our first time.

Outside the stadium we are greeted by lots of Sainsbury's ambassadors giving out flags, wristbands and large sheets which transform when folded over into something that makes lots of noise! There are lots of food outlets and activities taking place. Everyone seems to be having fun. There is a indoor portakabin with athletic memorabilia detailing the history of British Athletics, which is very interesting. My hubby shows me where the stars of the show enter the stadium, with many waiting for autographs of their heroes. My first taste of a major athletic event, thus far very impressed.


Into the main Stadium we go, great seats, overlooking the long/triple jump area on the home straight close to the finish line brilliant. My hubby is already spotting retired elite athletes in the crowd, Lynn Davies 1964 Olympic Long Jump champion one of the names I remember, a living legend according to the other half, my Athletic knowledge is not that advanced!! 


 You are informed what is happening in each event a person with a microphone introduces the athletes, tells you what event is going on and where to move your eyes. At times you would look one way for the high jump, a split second later someone doing the triple jump, a few seconds after that a throw in the shot putt! It was certainly non stop action. Katherine Merry (again according to hubby,did all the in track intros, who is yet another Olympian.) 

One event right in front of us that I did know an athlete was the Long Jump with Greg Rutherford, Mr Gravity. Olympic European and Commonwealth Champion. The focus the athletes show was really impressive, doing their warm up jumps, just to check if they were taking off on the right foot etc. They would go through the full mental approach as if they were doing an actual jump. Live you really do get an insight in how meticulous they are. The mental concentration they must all have is off the charts, if only I can apply some of that to my own jogging, I may well improve!!




The other thing you really notice when seeing the athletes in the flesh, is how lean and fit they truly are. Obviously we know they must be fit etc, but seeing with your own eyes close up how fit, is hard to express in words. Some athletes look larger on the TV than others, yet in the flesh everyone of them is a sight to behold. In ancient Greece these athletes would have been the Hercules of the day. They do not carry an ounce of excess fat, they are sculpted to be the exact build for their particular event. Breathtaking.


The TV presenters Gabby Denise and Colin.

We got a special treat with a greet and meet session.

                     Christine Ohuruogu                                                                             Kim Collins


                Anyika Onuora                                                                                   Harry Aikines-Aryeetey


                                                                              Mo Farah on start line.

The final event of the main meeting, was the loudest and had the crowd on their feet, just when the athletes walked onto the track. It was of all because of one man the legendary Mo Farah current World Olympic and European champion. The Mo-Bot man, a perfect example of sporting perfection. Built to be the absolute best, built to win. A fine treat to finish the main program. Everyone was buzzing during his whole race,  it certainly sold watching athletics live in a big way. I'll be back...


                     Even watching the athletics is tiring!! all the children fell asleep on the way home...

Overall then a great family fun day out. Highly Recommended. It has given me a greater understanding of these elite athletes and the sacrifices they must make. It has also given me a boost in getting out running and trying my best. My little girl who normally doesn't do as much running as her elder brothers, has also been inspired. Popping on her trainers and asking to go jumping and sprinting up to our local track a few days after the event. Which is brilliant, these are the role models we should be following. People who work to the limit and deserve all their success. Without things like the National Lottery and sponsors like Sainsbury's these athletes would not be-able to perform at the level they do. It is nice for companies to sponsor sports where grass-roots get help and a future generation can be inspired, instead of just watching TV and playing games indoors.

Thanks again Sainsbury's.
About this post-

We got sent a family pass to go to this great event and all thoughts are our own honest opinion.

Linking up with ~



Thursday, 21 August 2014

Adult Micro Floral White Scooter From Micro Scooters Review...



Over the last few weeks I have been having lots of fun testing out this fabulous Adult scooter from micro-scooters.  A few years ago my daughter was lucky enough to review a maxi micro scooterUpdate 2 years 9 months later and My daughter still loves her scooter. Most importantly the scooter is still going strong. Everywhere we go it is "Mum can I take my scooter?"

Every afternoon at home time from school I have to take her scooter up so she can ride home. I must admit, I love her scooter too. I always ride it up to school getting a few odd looks as a 'woman is riding a child's scooter'. The odd comment from passer bys ' Wait till I tell her you have been riding it'.


Things have all changed now as Mum no longer has to watch her daughter having fun. I have been lucky enough to be sent an adult one to road test. Every spare moment we get, we have been going out on the scooters and having lots of fun, whilst exercising too.


About the Floral Scooter
  • New, exclusive floral patterned Micro White scooter combines style with substance.
  • Be prepared to get envious looks wherever you scoot!
  • This scooter glides along effortlessly because of the longer lower deck.
  • With large wheels and a bigger frame for taller riders.
  • The scooter folds making it easy to carry and transport.
  • With an adjustable handlebar height ensuring you scoot in the most comfortable position.








Good to know
  • Colour : Floral White.
  • Age : Adult.
  • Max user weight : 100kg / 15.75stone.
  • Scooter weight : 4.70kg.
  • Bearings : Abec 5.
  • Deck Material : Aluminium.
  • Wheel dimensions : Front & Back 200mm.
  • Wheel style : 78a Cruisers.
  • Deck dimensions : 41cm X 12.7cm.
  • Handlebar height : 72cm-103cm.
  • Folding dimensions : 74cm x 12.7cm x 30cm.
  • Kickstand: Yes.
  • Price : £159.95.
  • Free delivery (3-5 days) when you spend over £50.
  • Standard Delivery (3-5 days) from £1.95.
  • Next Working Day (order by 1pm Mon-Thurs) £7.45.
  • Saturday Delivery (order by 1pm Friday) £12.95.


My thoughts on the Micro Floral White Scooter 

I have always taking the children out on their scooters over the years. As mentioned I often borrow theirs for a quick 5 or 10 minutes. It is only in the last few years that I realised that you could even get scooters suitable for Adults. It was only on a trip to London a couple of years ago that I saw quite a few people in suits riding them to and from work. This got me intrigued, I briefly did some research online, but ultimately chickened out as I was worried about what people would think.. ( On a side note I once bought some roller boots, wore them once. Whilst out someone shouted "R u on somet love?!!!" I never wore them again.!).

Now that I am older and wiser? I tend to not be bothered about what people think, once I hit 40, I had a new mantra " I will do WHAT I WANT and I DON'T CARE what you think". Should have done this when I was 20!! Anyway enough off topic, back to the scooter..

The scooter is quick to assemble, folds in seconds, looks great, supports my weight ok, and feels safe to ride. The break on the rear wheel is effective, even going downhill I felt in control, being able to stop in a timely manner. It has a nice kick stand to lean scooter up when parked. Like most scooters the handle bar height is adjustable, I noticed my hubby having sneaky go. He changed the height of the handlebars. Typically he never put it back to where I had set it for my height. The cheeky monkey or words to that affect!!

First impressions of riding the scooter are:- At first I was slightly wobbly, but soon found my rhythm, my daughter was laughing as she sped away from me, I now can keep up with her. Really. I can now manoeuvre round corners, accelerate quickly, brake, hop up curbs. I even go in the tuck position going downhill, to build speed. Usually panicking if I go too fast, a sight for sore eyes!

I have had the odd comment or stare, but couldn't give a monkeys. It is great fun a nice way to spend time with my daughter, I have enjoyed going out on my own too. I feel in more control than on a push bike. I can easily stop and start, the beauty of a scooter is how easy it is to fold down. It is not too heavy to carry, I managed to carry it for 1 mile round some shops, easily. On a recent train journey it was ideal. The guard on the train was not allowing any more cycles on board, my scooter was tucked away on the luggage rack. Sorted.

Overall then, I am mightily impressed with the scooter. I would whole heartedly recommend it to anyone, who is looking to join in with kids, perhaps as an alternative commuting method or just to have some good clean adult fun!!

I think that is the key word FUN. We often become very serious as we get older, always trying to be responsible for the kids and being set in our ways. I am too serious for sure. This has given me the perfect opportunity to have fun, finally being able to put my roller boot experience to bed!! Over 40 year old Mums of 4 can have FUN. It is allowed. Micro Scooter, I thank you..




About this post-

I got sent this beautiful scooter to test out and review.

All thoughts are my own honest opinion and I did not get paid for this post ...


Sunday, 17 August 2014

Sunday Runday : On A Mission Week 2 And A TomTom Tester...


Phew What a week!! 

This has to have been one of the hardest weeks of the holidays so far. Trying to get just an hour of 'me time' to exercise was nigh on impossible! Not only are all 4 children off school (with oldest home from uni) my husband was off work too. Stress!! 5 to look after...

Days out, a few nights away and a really poorly eldest son. My eldest son caught tonsillitis 2 weeks ago and is still not well. The Doctors have been appalling. Will leave my thoughts on that for another post!! 

In between all of my stress, I did manage a few runs, for that quick as a flash hour I became me again. I had an extra incentive as I had a new toy to review..


I was so excited and very lucky to be picked by The running bug , (a website where I log all my running training) and TomTom to test out one of the runner cardio watches. This watch is a all new TomTom Runner Cardio and has a built-in Heart Rate Monitor. So you do not need to wear an additional strap on chest. Brilliant.. Even though I have been a little lazy since the children broke up from school, I was really looking forward to getting out with my new watch.



Here is a little YouTube video of my new watch..


As a runner one of my favourite things to do is track all my runs, looking back on the courses I have been on, the pace I have run, the miles I have logged. I become a stat nerd! It is a great way of seeing how you progress and has provided useful information for when I have done my marathons. What the new runner cardio does is the usual I have used before, but also lots of new features.

The built in heart rate monitor is brilliant. I have had them before with a strap across your chest, they never seem to work properly. This is spot on, finds your pulse instantly. When looking through your stats it tells you which of your heart rate zones you have been working in. Fat Burn, Recovery etc. This is a great way of seeing if you are working too hard or too easy. You can set up the watch to do intervals so run for say 2 minutes fast 1 minute slow. Program it to do a set distance, set time or set pace. Even challenging a previous run and course you have done. Excellent, I have a new running buddy. Another feature which I am hoping will prove useful (when I have time) is that it also works on the treadmill in the gym. Normally I have had to add this manually to any running log site. You can do the run on the treadmill and adjust distance run if slightly off. This means all my runs are tracked on one device a first. Fantastic..


How lovely and stylish does this watch look?

I love the look of it and it feels nice on the wrist.

I found putting the watch onto the computer lead a little fiddly at first, it was hard to pull the watch back off the dock. There is a technique to it. Practise and patience I need to tell myself! The watch itself is nice and easy to set up I went for a run but noticed I did need to downloaded the software first. Toptip Read the quick start guide it is there for a reason. so I went home and simply downloaded the software. Once properly set up I went out for another run and the GPS was spot on. Perfect.


One extra thing I have noticed is how quickly the watch finds the GPS signal. From when I close the front door and select run, check laces the watch is ready to go..

Over the new few weeks I will be testing out the TomTom cardio watch. Please pop back in a few weeks and see how I am going with my training and how the watch is helping me meet my goals...


Monday~

3 miles run

Tuesday~

2.75 miles run once before I set up my TomTom (faster run,ha)
2.75 miles run after I set my watch up..

Wednesday~

4 miles run

Thursday~

3.76 miles

Friday~

Away~ lots of walking

Saturday~

Away~ lost of walking

Sunday~

Stressed~ maybe I should run but I am too worried about my son...


Do you use a GPS watch to track your runs?

Which watch do you use?

About this post-

I got sent A TomTom watch to test out and review

All thoughts are my own honest opinion and I did not get paid for this post ...

Thursday, 7 August 2014

Place Sandals Review...



As you may know I love my footwear and was pleased to be asked by Place Footwear last week if I would like to try out a pair of their sandals. A new range of sandals which have hidden orthotic technology to naturally realign your feet & improve posture. They sounded great so I picked out this lovely pair of flat sandals with shimmering diamanté sparkles. Perfect for adding a bit of class to my outfits on my walk home from the gym!?!



About the Place sandals
  • The new range of sandals which have hidden orthotic technology to naturally realign your feet & improve posture. 
  •  This helps to reduce aching feet, legs, knees & lower back pain, all of which are associated with badly supporting footwear. 
  •  They come in some classic colours and even with a bit of bling!  They are also great at preventing future foot & posture problems & general muscle fatigue. 
  • Designed by Langer who have been manufacturing foot orthotics in the UK for 34 years, Langer decided to use their experience and proven clinical biomechanical principles to design a shoe with an orthotic in the footbed as customers rely on their orthotics but struggle in the warmer weather to fit them into their summer footwear, they just don’t fit !
  • Beautiful Ibiza brings a sparkle to every occasion, glamorous yet comfortable, these stunning sandals include a full leather lining with diamante detailing. 
  • This luxurious upper is built around our unique contoured sole unit with BFT Technology– carefully crafted to provide gentle biomechanical correction and exceptional pronation control. 
  • This advanced foot support, is perfect for everyday wear and incorporates features to minimise foot fatigue all while improving posture, balance and body alignment.
  • Price £55.00
  • Sizes available 5,6,7,8,9 


My thoughts on the sandals

I quickly opened the parcel to see what the sandals looked like. The sparkles were the first thing I noticed and how pretty they looked. Now time to try on.. They feel firm on the bottoms, supportive around the arches with a nice snug fit around the tops. The inside of the sandals having a little elastic on, making it easy for your feet to slip in and out. They felt comfortable from the outset with the sizing being spot on. I have been wearing these non stop and they feel great. In summary :- No need to bed in, Stylish, Comfortable, Snug. They adjust to your foot shape straight away, promoting a natural foot strike. I will update in a couple of months to see how they react to long term use. Certainly for now, Highly Recommended.


About this post-

I got sent these sandals to review.

All thoughts are my own honest opinion and I did not get paid for this post ...


LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

40+ style

Shoe love

Run Mum Run