Showing posts with label Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Reviews. Show all posts

Thursday, 31 July 2014

Helene Berman Classic Pea Coat From Gray And Osbourn Review...



A few weeks ago I was asked by Gray & Osbourn if I would like to review something from their Autumn/Winter collection. I was happy to be sent a sneak preview email of what will be arriving in their on-line boutique next season. The collection looks great and this lovely Helene Berman classic pea coat caught my eye straight away. 

Every Autumn I like to treat myself to a new coat, something that is going to last the distance. Being worn each day throughout the Winter. It has to be good quality, a great style and a colour that will go with almost everything. I love this Navy coat, I think the colour is very versatile and goes with my outfits that I will wear this Autumn and Winter.

I pictured this coat looking very stylish with fitted jeans and long boots. Perfect for looking casual and stylish for the school run and days out shopping. Also great for wearing over dresses for nights out. I was right, it does look great with everything.





About the Helene Berman classic pea coat from Gray & Osbourn
  • This iconic, military-inspired coat comes in a luscious blend of rich wool and sumptuous cashmere for a refined appearance and wonderfully soft touch. 
  • Authentic double-breasted front, crested silver-tone buttons, front pockets, long sleeves with buttoned tab trims and buttoned half back belt.
  • Dry clean.
  • 68% Wool, 17% Cashmere, 15% Polyamide. 
  • Fully lined: Acetate.
  • Product available in sizes: 10, 12, 14, 16, 18, 20.
  • Colour ~ Navy
  • Price £199.00

A perfect addition with jeans for the school runs and dresses for shopping and nights out.





What I think about the Classic Pea Coat

I really like this coat, Navy is strongly becoming my new favourite Autumn colour. The coat feels so stylish and very high quality. 

I am a size 10 and was advised that this style can be slightly slim in fit, and I was recommended to go a size bigger. I would say not to go a size bigger and choose your true size in this coat. This size 12 feels so big, definitely a full bodied 12. I am sure the size 10 would have been a perfect fit? (not sure if you can tell from the picture with the buttoned up front? but it sticks out at the back). 

 No worries though, it will come in handy for the winter when lots of jumpers are required. As it is too big I prefer it open for a classy look. 

About this post-

I got sent this coat for review.

All thoughts are my own honest opinion and I did not get paid for this post ...


Sunday, 27 July 2014

What's In My Bag : Dash Beach Bag Review...

The weather is amazing and I am so looking forward to taking the children to the beach. Yesterday the post man delievered me this lovely raspberry stripe tote bag from Dash to review. 

A perfect sized bag for what I would need.

 Not to big, so you can find things quickly and not to small, so you can fit just enough in. 

This bag will come in very handy for a day out to the beach.





What's in my bag?

Everything for a day at the beach.

Sun cream, jelly sandals, towel...

Phone, camera, money...

and train tickets..


I packed my bag straight away, with my essentials for a day out to the seaside. Whoops forgot the sunglasses in the picture!! being on my head!!

Now my bag is all packed, I can not wait to go to the beach with the children.

About the bag
  • Raspberry Stripe Tote, a classic pop of colour for every ensemble.
  • With navy pu trims and durable canvas straps, this beach bag is the ideal summer accessory.
  • Finished with a cotton lining and zip closure.
  • Fabric Detail: 100% Canvas 
  • Wash Inst: Wipe With Damp Cloth 
  • Style: Tote
  • Was £19.00 now £12.00

What I think of the bag

It is a nice medium size bag that fits all the above in perfect. I like the fact it has a zip along the top so nothing can drop out. It fits nicely over your shoulder without hanging down to low. There is no inside pocket, which is a shame as I like to put my phone or purse inside a pocket for easy access. The first thing my 17 year old son as was "is your bag designer?" I could tell he thought it looked nice and expensive. Loving the pattern, it is very stylish. I think it is a great buy for only £12.00.

About this post-

I got sent this bag for review. All thoughts are my own honest opinion and I did not get paid for this post ...

Thursday, 24 July 2014

Mastershoe-myshu Sandal Review...



 Children have broken up from school, for the holidays. A whole 6 weeks of summer fun ahead! We are now busy planning days out, trips to the beach and a holiday at the seaside. Come September I will be worn out.


With all the walking that I will be doing, my feet will need plenty of pampering to keep up with the rascals. One thing I love to wear in the summer holidays weather permitting are sandals.

They have to be ~ flat, COMFY, rub free and look good, all rolled into one.

With this in mind I was excited to be sent some new leather, flat sandals to try out.


How sweet does the flowers look?

 A few weeks ago I was introduced to a brand I had not heard of before Mastershoe-myshu who asked me if I would like to review a pair of their Oxygen sandals. After taking a look at the sandals. flat, comfy, sweet design all came to mind.






About Mastershoe-myshu
  • Mastershoe-myshu is an online/high street footwear retailer.
  • They stock the top high street brands at very competitive prices.
Oxygen - Charlotte - Red - Womens
  • This fabulously feminine flip-flop with rustic leather flowers and string toe-post with flexible plastic casing is a great essential for any sun seeker. 
  • With its contoured cork footbed and thick man-made outsole, the Oxygen Charlotte offers great all day comfort. 
  • Complete with Oxygen branding to the footbed, and logo on the side strap this design is sure to draw the right attention.
Colours available
  • Khaki
  • Brown
  • Red
  • Tan

Oxygen Charlotte - Size Conversion
  • UK 3 - Euro 36 - US 5.5
  • UK 4 - Euro 37 - US 6.5
  • UK 5 - Euro 38 - US 7.5
  • UK 6 - Euro 39 - US 8.5
  • UK 7 - Euro 40 - US 9.5 
  • UK 8 - Euro 41 - US 10.
Price 
  • £34.99


When I put the sandals on I noticed they felt a little strange at first. Maybe the ridge around the sides felt a little different? After about 10 minutes of wearing them around the house, they started to fell slightly different. Possibly starting to mould to the shape of my feet? They were comfy from the outset.

During the next few days I wore them on walks to the shops, around the house etc Essentially using them as an every day slipper in the house. After my initial feelings that they were an unusual fit, I need not have worried as they have slowly adapted to my foot shape, becoming like a second skin.

Being leather they have not rubbed or cut my feet (which is great as new sandals usually do).
I have worn them enough now to know they are a great all-round sandal possibly the best I have ever owned. Would just to love to try them on a beach any beach. If my hubby reads this please take me on holiday soon.!

I think these sandals are perfect for the summer they are comfy having very good support. I found the sizing to be accurate, no need to go slightly under or over your regular size.

Topping them off they are my favourite colour too.


About this post-

I got to choose a pair of sandals the point of this review. All thoughts are my own honest opinion and I did not get paid for this post ...

Sunday, 13 July 2014

Veetee Recipe Ingredients Box...



Earlier this week I received a parcel with some fun ingredients to make up a recipe using some Veetee rice and fresh vegtables. The ingredients box contained 3 packets of Veetee rice (that is ready in under 2 minutes), 3 peppers, a few chilli's, chorizo sausage, coconut milk, sweet and sour chill sauce a egg time and 2 cool serving dishes.

As we are not to big a fans of chilli's, especially after a eating them raw competition my oldest 2 sons had last year, so I changes a few of the ingredients around.

This is what we cam up with~

Stuffed Peppers
  • 3 Peppers
  • Teaspoon olive oil
  • Salt and pepper
Filling
  • 2 tbs Olive oil
  • 1 Medium onion (chopped)
  • 100g Mushrooms (sliced)
  • 100g Chorizo sausage slice and cut into halves
  • 2 packets of Veetee egg fried rice

Method
  1. Preheat the oven to 180C/350F/Gas 6.
  2. Cut the peppers into half, scoop the seeds out, cut stalks off, rinse and place onto a baking tray.
  3. Drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and black pepper. 
  4. Place in the oven and cook for 15-30 minutes (depending on how you like your peppers cooked) or until soft.
Making the filling
  1. 10 minutes before peppers are cooked make the filling.
  2. In a frying pan heat the olive oil over medium heat.
  3. Add the chopped onions, mushrooms and chorizo sausage.
  4. Fry for around 6 minutes.
  5. Add the 2 packs of Veetee rice and fry for another 3-4 minutes.
  6. On a severing plate take out the peppers and fill with the fried rice and vegetables.
  7. Sever with left over fried rice.


About Veetee rice

  • Veetee rice is available to buy at Tesco RRP £1.49 a pack.
  • Each pack severs 1 as a main 2 as a side dish.
  • Microwave or stir fry. 


About this post

I got sent some ingredients for the purpose of the post. I was not paid and all thoughts are my own honest opinion..


Thursday, 10 July 2014

LEGO Lord Of The Rings Pirate Ship : ASDA Direct Review...


The lovely people over at ASDA Direct asked me if I would like to review something from their summer toy selection. My 11 year old son loves to build things with Lego being his favourite toy at the moment. I decided to choose him a nice Lego surprise as he is always helping me out round the house.

I picked him out this LEGO Lord of the Rings Pirate Ship as I know how much he loves watching the films with his big brothers.

Last week, bless him when trying out his new school I got a call from the teachers to say he had been taken to hospital as he had cut his knee and needed stitches. Long story short, he is fine, but with swelling etc needed to stay home from school.

His first day at home, upset and feeling very sorry for himself, a delivery what could it be?  What a lovely surprise and great timing!! It was the Lord of the Rings pirate ship. 

When I took it into the room to show him what I had, a great big smile appeared, I knew he had teeth!

A few moments later, he was shuffling himself onto the floor and starting to set up ship!!

Every couple of hours he kept going back to it until he had finished building it. (About 4 hours in total) Which he spread out over 4 days to complete it all.

My son has really enjoyed making The Lord of the Rings Lego pirate ship this week.

He set it up himself with the easy to follow instructions. He only had one mad tantrum when he pushed a piece too hard, breaking the decking. (time for a quick break) He soon got back into it after a rest and some lunch.









About the LEGO Lord Of The Rings Pirate Ship

On the shores of Minas Tirith, Sauron's Mordor Orcs prepare to greet their allies aboard the Pirate Ship ' but all is not as it seems. Pull up alongside them, drop the anchors and lead a surprise attack with Aragorn, Gimli, Legolas Greenleaf and the Army of the Dead.

 This majestic Corsair ship features 3 large sails, removable rear section with dungeon and Pirate of Umbar prisoner, firing crossbow and loads of armor and weapons! Capture the Orc catapult and lead the glow-in-the-dark King of the Dead and his soldiers into battle at the War of the Ring!



Includes
  • 9 minifigures with weapons and accessories: Aragorn, Legolas Greenleaf, Gimli, 2 Mordor Orcs, the King of the Dead, 2 Soldiers of the Dead and a Pirate of Umbar.
Price

£89.99


Overall

A great Lego set. Whether fan of LOTR or Pirate ships in general. Well made as you would expect, some of the detail on the mini figures is superb. The ship and all the little extras: catapults, maps, weapons etc. make this a great addition to any Lego fans collection.

ASDAs website sells a wide range of goods including loads of toys. You can have them delivered to home or your nearest store. Which is handy. I had home delivery it was quick and hassle free. Highly recommended.


About this post:

 I was asked to choose something from the ASDA direct summer toys range for the purpose of the review. I was not paid for this review and all thoughts are my own honest opinion...


Thursday, 3 July 2014

Trion:Z Acti-Loop Review...



Last year I got to try out the Trion:Z Colantotte Magnetic Wristband. Having developed the product range significantly for 2014, they kindly offer me a chance to review one of the new wristbands.

I wear my old wristband regularly and as my husband has always shown an interest, I chose him as my guinea pig to try out the wristband and share his thoughts.



I picked him a medium Black and Ocean coloured band.


About the new Trion:Z Acti-Loop wristband~
  • Dual Loop styling is back.
  • It's in silicone and suitable for water, snow and sun.
  • The ACTI-LOOP wristband contains powerful negative ion producing materials in the pod and patented ANSPO magnetic technology working together to produce the most powerful product of its type on the market today.
  • Perfect if you are looking for a clean, comfortable and stylish design which is protected in the water, snow and the sun.
  • Flexible, transparent and waterproof silicone band in a dual loop style, ideal for an active lifestyle.
  • Available in 3 colours~ Black/Grey, Black/Lime or Black/Ocean.
  •  Sizes to suit all ~ small, medium, and Large.
  • Polarized Pod Capsule containing 3 x 1,000 Gauss Magnets with Trion:Z patented ANSPO technology.
  • Their most powerful product with negative ion infused pod producing over 1,800 negative ions per second.
  • £24.99 each.


 In his own words what he thought~

The first thing I commented on was the look and style. They look cool! I used to have a copper bracelet years ago then the first style Trion:Z wristbands got me interested in a bracelet again. Although the original band when continually worn lost shape and the stringy loops frayed and looked tatty.

This new silicone design is much more durable, I have worn it continually, since my wife gave it to me. Ran, swam, cycled and worked! It still looks like new, it has drawn numerous comments off people asking if it is a new watch? a new gadget or a torch!? I explain it is a magnetic bracelet, people are impressed.

Whether the Trion:Z really works, from a health point of view only time will tell. However a couple of observations at my monthly gym check up. Blood pressure best reading for 2 years. Heart Rate lowest for 3 years. That will do for me. I will keep my wife updated if my 8 years of knee pain go away with better circulation I will be buying shares in Trion:Z ....

Score

Design 9.5/10
Comfort 10/10
Price 8.5/10
Overall 9.5/10


About this post: I was sent a Trion:Z Acti Loop wristband for the purpose of the review. I was not paid for this review and all thoughts are my own honest opinion...

Linking up with~




Sunday, 29 June 2014

Black And White Zebra Scarf Necklace : Perfect For A Day In Bakewell...


A few weeks ago I was sent some lovely scarf necklaces from the BHS Spring Summer 2014 collection. 

I was asked to styled them up on our days out. 

This week I am featured over on the BHS blog with the lovely Fritha from  Tiger Lilly Quinn, sharing our outfis.


First outfit for a lovely day out walking around Bakewell. Dressed smartly, yet fit for purpose I was ready for a day out in the Peak District. 

I styled this black and white zebra print one with a red tunic, black and white shrug, black shiny leggings and some red lace up boots.


We love Bakewell, the fish and chips taste amazing. 

Always to full to try a battered Mars bar though!!

Have you tried one?

They sound so yummy..


We always sit by the river for lunch.

Such a lovely peaceful spot even on busy days...


Something so relaxing about having a nice walk around the river...


A cake from the Bakewell pudding shops are also a must!!


Outfit~

Scarf necklace ~ c/o BHS
Tunic ~ Asda
Shrug ~ carboot sale
Leggings ~ matalan
Shoes ~Longsdale


Bakewell is our favourite, get away for the day and relax place. 

Where is yours?

About this post~

I was asked to style some of the new scarf necklaces from BHS for the point of this review. All thoughts are my own honest opinion and I did not get paid for this post ...



Thursday, 26 June 2014

Kaliko Dress Review


Last week I was introduced to Kaliko, a website I had never visited before. The website owned by Jacques Vert Group is a collection of Elegant British Brands.

They say~

"We are passionate about confidently dressing the mature woman in the highest quality products that are proudly designed in Britain".


I was excited to be asked if I would like to try something from their website to wear for a special occasion.

As we often go to London for weekends away, I wanted to pick a elegant dress that is comfortable to wear when travelling down by train.

A dress that is stylish that does not crease up when travelling, figure flattering and most of all feels and looks great.


When it arrived I was pleased to find the dress, ticked all the boxes. Lovely.


Sizing~

Having been away, eating far to much over the last few weeks, with no exercise, I was worried about picking the right size. I ordered a size 10 but noticed my usual clothes getting a little tight. I was hoping it would fit me!!  

No worries there. The next size up would have been far to big. The sizes are very generous. Plenty of room to move around and fits lovely. I would say it is a roomy Size 10.


Style~

This A-lined dress has the feel and style of that classic look I love. You can immediately tell that it is made with high quality fabric, with a lovely design around the waist. It feel great to wear and has a very flattering cut and line. A real quality garment. Black, with brightly coloured flowers on. It has a centre back zip and elegant short sleeves.


Perfect location?


Outfit~

Dress ~ c/o Kaliko ~ Frida Yoke Detail Dress
Shoes ~ Irregular Choice
Bag ~ Cath Kidston
Sunglasses ~ Primark
Jewellery ~ My old shop


As the dress looks beautiful and feels great on, I feel very stylish and confident when wearing it.


About the dress~
  • The Frida Yoke Detail Dress updates the classic fit and flare style with a vibrant print.
  • In the vibrant graphic floral Frida print, this dress features a fit and flare shape to flatter any figure, ruched detailing at the round neckline and a panel design at the waist. 
  • With a centre back zip and short sleeves for a great silhouette.
  • Length Detail: 101cm.
  • Fabric Detail: 100% Polyester 
  • Lining: 100% Polyester 
  • Wash Inst: Machine Wash 
  • Style: A-Line
  • Price Was £129.00 Now £49.00

About this post-

I was sent a dress to review. All thoughts are my own honest opinion and I did not get paid for this post ...



LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

40+ style

Shoe love

Run Mum Run