Hi and welcome to my blog Clairejustine

Fashion and lifestyle from a mum of 4 from Nottinghamshire.

Showing posts with label Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Reviews. Show all posts

Tuesday, 22 April 2014

MILLETSPORTS Review...


Last week I was pleased to be asked by Millet Sports if I would like to do a product review from their website.

With getting lots of miles in, over the last few months with my marathon training, I was ready for a new pair of trainers. Running regularly the experts say it is better to alternate your running trainers to help avoid injures.

Perfect timing then!! Many different sport articles recommend also changing your trainers around 300 to 400 miles of running in them. This means once back into full training, in a few months to hit my goal of 200 miles each month this would mean a new pair of trainers every 2 months!!

Millet sports is not a website I was familiar with so I was looking forward to checking out their running products. The website caters for a variety of  different sports including- running, triathlon rugby, cricket, football and many more. I am a big fan of Nike sportswear and trainers, something about this brand that fits me like a glove.  After browsing their website I went straight to the running section, selected the trainers category, searched all the brands for Nike and them ladies size 7's.





What I picked from their website...

As mentioned above, Nike is my favourite sports brand. My favourite all round training shoes are their Air Pegasus style. I picked these + 30 model. These women's running shoes are perfect for my foot shape and running technique. The features are a lightweight mesh upper with no-sew overlays and a premium foam midsole for breath-ability and comfort from start to finish.

Benefits...
  • Engineered mesh upper with no-sew overlays for ventilation, support and comfort.
  • Cushlon foam midsole with Nike Zoom unit in the heel for soft, responsive cushioning
  • Sidewall cuts for superior shock absorption
  • Rubber Waffle outsole with lateral blades for traction, durability and a smooth transition.
  • Deep flex grooves for natural range of motion and flexibility.
  • Nike+ ready.
  • Price £64.99

About Millet Sports...
  • They started life over 20 years ago when Simon Millet founded his first Millet Sports shop in north west London. 
  • A keen tennis player and sportsman, Simon wanted to set up a store selling performance sports equipment combined with a service to offer expert product advice, unlike the sports fashion stores that were taking over the high street at the time.
  • The last few years the business has grown from strength to strength, adding more sports categories and a growing team of sport-minded colleagues to service the increasing customer demand.

What I think of Millets Sports website...

I was very pleased with the fast delivery, when you want to buy a new pair of trainers it is nice to receive them fast, they arrived in less than 2 days of ordering. They have a great selection of products to cover a wide range of sports. Comparing their running selection , which I know most about I would say the prices are very competitive. They offer a 24 hours delivery service if you order before 1pm priced at £5.95. Also if you spend £50.00 or more and want a standard delivery it is free within mainland UK.


About this review-

I got sent an item of my choice, in exchange for a honest review of Millet Sports. All thoughts are my own honest opinion and I was not paid for this post.

Thursday, 17 April 2014

Thorntons Easter Egg Review...



We all have a sweet tooth in our house and are big fans of yummy chocolate. Milk chocolate probably tops the wishlist, preferably Thorntons. We also all love running, so what nicer treat than chocolate after a good work out? fruit first of course!

I was over the moon when I was asked if Thorntons could send me a selection of their Easter eggs. Me chocolate? Thorntons! Oh yes please. With all the fuss around doing London marathon and staying in London last week, I was a bit low on our usual Easter stockpile. A good start to Easter week then with a delivery of goodies.

I love their chocolate and my lovely husband (in case he is reading) often treats me to something from their range. When we first met years and years ago, as a special treat he used to buy me a bag of their rum truffles. Now my treats on special occasions have turned to a nice big a box of continental chocolate, yes I am greedy!! My husband knows a way to make me smile is through Irregular Choice shoes or Thorntons chocolate, fact :)



At Easter all of our 4 children still love receiving Easter eggs, even my eldest son who is nearly 20, loves them. Then again who doesn't?!. Our family tradition is every Easter Sunday they wake dad up and ask him to hide all the eggs, all named up and then they spend ages trying to find all of their own. There are always a few eggs that do not get found for hours, wait too long and Dad eats them!! The kids start panicking searching everywhere, the shed, the washer, the cooker. Eventually all is well, they all have their own pile of eggs. They then do swaps trying to get their favourites.


Looking back I was about 5 or 6 when my first memories of Easter come to mind. Thorntons was a big part of that. My Grandma buying me Easter eggs from Thorntons. She worked for them and would always proudly give me an Easter egg from the shop. I remember how cool it was, receiving an egg which always had my name on it. No one could touch my egg, this was Claire's egg. This was special, this was a Thorntons Egg...

About this post-

I got sent a selection of Easter treats for the purpose of this post. I was not paid for this post and all thoughts are my own honest opinion.

Monday, 24 March 2014

Mother’s Day Treats With Boden...








I love polka dots, my daughter loves polka dots. We all love polka dots!!...

 Anytime we see anything with polka dots on it, we shout each other to come and see!! You could say we are both polka dot mad!! With that in mind I was delighted to be asked if my daughter and myself would like to pick a treat for Mothers day from Boden.

After looking through some Mothers Day ideas, I noticed this polka dot coat for my daughter. I knew she would love it. The jacket is beautiful, warm and very cosy. It comes in 3 great colours~ strawberry split, bright green and harbour blue spot.  My daughter picked the strawberry split one straight away. We chose the 11-12 years size. It fits beautifully. (I would say it is true fit to size as this is the size I usually go for.)

Priced at (Was £34.00 to £38.00 ) on sale now (24/03/2014) at  £27.20 to £30.40

I picked a lovely Rainy day-Mac, perfect for the April showers. The famous Rainy Day Mac is updated with new spots, and they also sell it in solid colours and a sensational multi-print. These are all shower resistant too which is great. Especially with all the rain we have had the last few months. The rainy day mac is a very flattering style, a beautiful fit, which is true to size, and very high quality.

Price (Was £119.00 ) now on sale at £107.10 (24/03/2014).

We had a fun morning posing in front of the camera and my 10 year old taking our pictures. When we pose together it always involves lots of hearts being made and lots of kisses being blown... A perfect day in my book!!

Can't wait for mothers day now, I want lots of love, kisses, and to be taken out in style with my beautiful new jacket on... Possibly something else from the Boden line would be most welcome as well (hint hint) in case my hubby or children are reading!!



About this post- 

Me and my daughter got to choose something for a mothers day treat. We picked these beautiful jackets. All thoughts on the jackets are my honest opinion and I was not paid for this review...


Wednesday, 26 February 2014

Bridal Shoes UK Review...


I was very pleased to be asked by Bridal Shoes UK a few weeks ago to try out their wedding shoe service.

I love love love my shoes but do not own, or indeed have ever owned my very own pair of stunning wedding shoes, how exciting!!

After looking through their wide range of beautiful wedding shoes I was going to pick a pair of shoes from their shoe dying service. I loved the idea of this service, Simply pick you favourite pair of shoes and have them dyed into whichever colour you want!! A great idea! And you can even try the shoes on before you have them dyed to make sure they fit perfectly.

While I was wondering which colour to choose. I stumbled upon this beautiful pair of Claret-red satin peep toe shoes and I thought how lovely they were, then I noticed it came with a matching evening bag, perfect of any special occasions. Red is my favourite colour so these were my perfect choice. No need to alter them.

The website is very easy to order from in 5 easy steps...

Simply choose what you wish to purchase and proceeded to check out.
  1. You are then take to a page where you can checkout as a guest or register for an account. 
  2. Then simply fill your billing details
  3. Shipping details
  4. shipping method
  5. Order confirmation
I choose the free shipping option, 5 to ten working days and my shoes arrived in just under a week which was great.

They both have the look and feel of quality products, well made, shiny and sparkly, looking beautiful and stunning... I LOVE shoes can you tell?!



The wedding boutique full of the most beautiful shoes and accessories, they sell everything you would need for the perfect wedding. They also offer a shoe dyeing service, where you can choose your favourite pair of satin or silk shoes, and then pick you own personal favourite colour to make your shoes and indeed wedding day unique.


About the shoes and matching handbag set.

A gorgeous satin special occasion shoe with a neat peep toe and a lovely satin bow embellished with a glittering trim.

A perfect wedding shoe, sure to be loved by bridesmaids, mother of the bride, guests and most importantly the bride.

Materials: Claret (Red) Satin

Heel Height: 8.5 cm (3 1/4 inches) approx

Sizes Available: UK 3 - 8 (EU 36 - 41)

Built in comfort padding and soft linings ensure your comfort.

Matching handbag included: Sarah Claret - size 23 cm x 10 cm

Price £59.94




I can honestly say I have never looked at a wedding boutique website before this one. We got married nearly 18 years ago. The internet was in its infancy so we relied on the shops in our local area for all our wedding ideas and clothing etc. How I wish this was available then. I am tempted to re marry to get some more wedding shoes !! Or at least renew my vows!!! I would have been planning everything for months.

 This is the sort of site you can while away the hours on. Great really for gifts for others your own wedding or just as a treat. The shoes are very competitively priced so an extra pair for the wardrobe is not too much to ask is it?

About this post ~ I got chance to pick a pair of shoes from Bridal Shoes for the purpose of this review. I did not get paid for this post and all thoughts are my own honest opinion...

Tuesday, 11 February 2014

Millets Hooded Long Jacket : Review...




After spending a wonderful weekend away in London with my family I was so glad I decided to take my lovely, warm and cosy new Millets hooded jacket I got sent last week to review?

Thursday, 6 February 2014

MERRELL Women's Mix Master Road Glide Review...


Last week I was excited to be asked by Blacks to try out and review some of their Merrell barefoot running lite shoes.

I love my running trainers and I have tried all kinds of sports shoes over the years, but never any close to barefoot style before. I have read lots of articles over the last few months on barefoot running, how some experts say its good for you and others not so sure, so I was really looking forward to getting the chance to try them out.

I picked out the Merrell mix master road glides as I thought this style looked very nice and bright for night time training.


About the MERRELL Women's Mix Master Road Glide

Hard surfaces and longer runs increase the impact on your feet. As pioneers in the barefoot running style, Merrell have designed the Women's Mix Master Road Glide shoe to get you closer to the barefoot running style but provide a little extra comfort on that hard terrain.

While full-on barefoot running shoes feature a pancake-flat sole for natural ground contact, this more versatile shoe incorporates additional cushioning and a modest 4mm drop to ease you into the barefoot style.







What I though of the trainers

The first thing I noticed was wow how light?

198g feels very light compared to my normal trainers. So I was looking forward to trying them out.

After getting over how light they were and how nice the colour looked, I tried them around the house for a few hours. Running up stairs fast, then a mad half hour dancing around in them to bed them in before it was time to road test them AT the running club!!!

With the thought of a 2 miles warm up, 3 miles fast hill reps and 1 mile cool down. How would they feel? I soon found out....

Questions that entered my head~
  • How would they feel on my run being lightweight?
  • How would they feel when running fast reps?
  • Would I run faster?
  • How would my feet feel after fast training in light trainers?
  • How would my feet feel the next day after training, would they hurt?

I soon got answer~
  • They felt great warming up and being lightweight I decided to overtake the man that passed me on the hill on my warm up. Yes I left him behind on a warm up!!
  • I felt loads lighter, running fast in my new trainers.
  • They helped my technique as I was adapting to a more natural rhythm. I do tend to normally plod a little. These promote are more springy step.
  • My feet felt no different after reps in them.
  • After a fast rep session my feet usually hurt a little when I get up the next day and I would say they felt the same. 

Overall then a great first session, they are a good introduction into a minimalist style, without going the whole hog of a full on barefoot shoe. Because of how your foot sits in the shoe and how the heel to toe is designed you get a more natural foot plant. Which encourages a fluent heel toe transition. Will be interesting how they go with a few more sessions under my belt. I will post an update in a few weeks!!

I love these trainers, they are my new favourite running shoes and they feel great.


Features
  • Strobel construction - Flexibility for ultimate comfort.
  • Breathable, EZClean™ synthetic air mesh upper - Protective, reflective and fits like a glove.
  • Merrell Float midsole (EVA) - 10% thinner and 25% lighter to provide more feel and ground control.
  • 4mm toe to heel rise - Buffers impact on road or long runs.
  • Merrell Air Cushion to heel - To absorb shock and enhance stability.
  • Merrell Mix Sole - Sticky rubber for excellent grip.
  • Lightweight - 198g.

Price £80.00


About this post ~ I got sent these close to barefoot trainers for the purpose of this review. I did not get paid for this post and all thoughts are my own honest opinion...

Tuesday, 21 January 2014

Sportsshoes Winter Running Kit Review...


It has been a hard few weeks trying to getting back into a running routine after Christmas. Throughout December I did get very lazy in my running eating loads of snacks and treats which are no good for me.

After a few weeks of over eating it really is hard to cut back down again. Once the children went back to school  I tried to cut down and feel that I am now eventually getting there!

I am very pleased that my running is now back on track too as I am training for the London marathon in April, I really do need to get the miles back up.

Monday is the day I can fit my long run in, I managed to get up to 10 miles last week and 11 miles today, which is pleasing. One thing I really wish though was that Santa had brought me was some new running clothes.

It really cheers you up having something new to wear for running especially when you do not feel like getting out the door.

That is the hardest part of running for me is the first step, all dressed in my running kit, trainers on and ready to run. Especially when it is so cold outside and warm n cozy inside!!

A big help to cheer me up my winter blues was last week when I was offered some new running kit from Sportsshoes to review.

Yeah new running kit...


I was pleasantly surprised when I visited their website with the price of the Nike running kit. I usually go for sport shops own brand as they are the cheapest to buy but I always love the Nike products. I picked out 5 pieces of Nike kit that can all be mixed and matched for less than £90.00.


This is the kit I got for racing and running the London marathon in. I do not like anything around my knees when trying to go fast so this kit is perfect for fast training and racing. These 2 in 1 shorts feel a really nice fit.

If cold I can layer both tops the long sleeve compression top keeps you comfortable and dry and the reflective shirt over the top is perfect to be seen running at night.


These straight leg running tights feel great and good for going to the gym to do exercise classes as well as running. They look great with both tops.


These running tights feel great on to, I can't wait to try them out on a running club night now. I feel as though I will be able to run fast in these.

Overall thoughts

I am very please with all the items I received. They all fit perfect, look great and are really good prices. I have my training, gym wear and race kit all ready for the next few months now.

Want help with training and nutrition?

They have a lots of expert advice over at The Running Hub for anything you need to know about running, sportswear and nutrition.

About this post- I got to choose some running kit from Sportsshoes.Com for the purpose of this review. All thoughts are my own honest option and I was not paid for this post.


Sunday, 15 December 2013

Ainsley Harriott Winter Warmer Soups Review....


Earlier this week I received this lovely and exciting hamper full of tasty Winter Warmer soups and goodies.


I was sent this hamper to celebrate the new delicious premium soups from one of the UK's favourite chefs Ainsley Harriott.

Saturday, 14 December 2013

Desire Mini Chopper Review...


Last week I was kindly asked if I would like to try out and review a Russell Hobbs Desire Mini Chopper kitchen appliances.

A new kitchen appliance?

In time for Christmas to make fun coleslaws and dips for party time?

Yes please!!

Tuesday, 10 December 2013

NESCAFÉ® Dolce Gusto® Mini Me Review...


Can you believe that until Saturday I had never tried coffee?

I am a tea person who also loves my hot chocolate!

Monday, 9 December 2013

New Frusion By Rocks Drinks (Review).


I am very happy to be sharing this review today brought to you by Rocks Drinks.

We have become big fans of Rock Drinks this year often buying their traditional range of Orange and Blackcurrant squash. Over the last few years we have been more aware of what goes into our food and drinks, with squash being a particular problem.


Tuesday, 3 December 2013

New Snacking Products From Whitworths Review...

Today In the post I received some new handy snack size healthy treats from Whitworths for us all to try out.


These packets are the perfect size for one person and a smart idea if your on the go.

Great to pop into your bag if you miss breakfast, a good idea for lunch box treats or perfect if you fancy a nice healthier treat.


Tuesday, 26 November 2013

what's for dinner? second helpings : cookbook review...


I am not really a book worm, I don't find time to read novels, most of my reading is done on-line. In saying that I do love a good cook book. Looking at photos of different foods and especially cakes, reading how they are made, planning the time to give the recipe a try. I can get lost, slumped in a corner for hours with a new cook book. Lost in a world of colours, flavours and tastes. Fabulous.


Last week I was kindly asked to review a new cook book "what's for dinner? second helping written by Romilla Arber. This award-winning cookery book is wrote by Romilla, a mum of 4 (like me) who had to self-publish “What’s for Dinner? Second Helpings”.

About the Cookbook

This mouth watering book full of amazing recipes for a family of 6. A great book for families who want to start cooking from scratch or those who just require a little inspiration. What’s for Dinner? Second Helpings” is THE ONLY cookery book in the UK whereby 100% of sale proceeds benefit a charity, The Food Education Trust (Food Education Trust), founded by Romilla Arber in 2008. Hailed as a kitchen bible by its many users, it is 767 pages in length and has an RRP of £25.00.

About the Food Education Trust 

The Food Education Trust is an independent charity. The Food Education Trust provides children and adults with cookery skills so they can learn how to make good, nutritious, home cooked meals from scratch and rely less on processed and pre-packed foods. In the four years since it began, The Food Education Trust has touched the lives of many people.. Funding comes solely from sales of Romilla’s cookery books: “What’s for Dinner?” and the award-winning “What’s for Dinner? Second Helpings”, which have together raised over £20,000 to date, all of which is invested in the trust.



What I think of the cook book

I was so excited to open the parcel, the book is massive, (I love the smell of a new book) I opened the book and was pleasantly surprised by the wonderful pictures inside with inspiring recipes that even I am more than capable of making. The book is jam packed full of delightful foods all using good wholesome fresh ingredients.

After getting lost in the food zone for a few days, reading the wonderful recipes and admiring the beautiful pictures I made some Chewy Pistachio bars.

One thing I hate when you find an amazing book, is when you sit down and plan some fun and tasty meals and then find out the recipes you like have lots of special ingredients that you need. They always seem to be things you would never buy and would probably never use again. Worse still when the recipes are just too hard to follow, the book then just gets added to your bookshelf gathering dust.

I can confirm this will not happen with this BOOK...

The book is full of wonderful delicious fresh family meals puddings and treats. A large book packed with 521 tasty looking recipes. The chapters are all split into months of the year, perfect then for taking advantage of ingredients that are in season.

This is my kind of book simple to follow, easy sourced ingredients, mostly healthy with the odd fresh treat for your sweet tooth to savour. Wonderful.

Chewy pistachio bars
I wanted to make everything at the weekend! Not possible... So I started with some chewy pistachio bars and they tasted amazing..

About this post-

I got sent a copy of the cook book what's for dinner? second helpings for the purpose of this review . I was not paid for this post and all thoughts are my own honest opinion.

Tuesday, 19 November 2013

Harveys Bristol Cream Review...


Last week I received a bottle of Harveys Bristol Cream to review which got me excited and thinking of Christmas. Every year we buy a good quality bottle of sherry so we can leave Santa a nice small glass out to go with his mince pie on Christmas Eve.

I have been thinking of some recipes for the adults to share, maybe a Trifle, a mince pie or two or whatever new recipes I can think off for the adults only, of course. All with a nice splash or glass!! of sherry, yum yum.

My all time favourite like most people is the classic Christmas trifle. It never fails in hitting the spot. Delicious.

The Christmas trifle.

My mum has made a trifle for Christmas every year since I was little and my Grandma always used to make wonderful Christmas trifles too.


Ingredients

  • 1 x 135g Strawberry Jelly tablet (that make 1 pint of jelly)
  • 30 ml Harveys Bristol sherry
  • 411g Can of fruit cocktail ( juice drained)
  •  110g (about 16-18) Trifle sponge fingers
  • 1 Pint of home made custard (made up) I used 500g this time of freshly made up ( from fridge's in supermarket)
  • 300 ml Double cream
  • 250g Cooking chocolates
  • 4 Clementine's/ satsumas peeled and broken into pieces
  • Candy canes for decoration
You will need
  • Large trifle dish
  • Chocolate mould

Method
  • Make up jelly by putting broken jelly pieces into a jug and adding half a pint of boiling water, stir until all jelly has melted, make up to just under 1 pint of liquid with cold water ( I make mine 30 ml less than a pint as the sherry will water the jelly down).
  • Leave for a while to cool.
  • Place the fruit cocktail into a sieve and drain all juice from the fruit (if not the jelly will not set properly).
  • Place the fruit cocktail in the centre of the dish.
  • Place the trifle sponges around the inside of the bowl any spare break up and mix with the fruit.
  • Now the jelly should have cooled tip over the fruit and sponges, poor into the trifle bowl over the fruit
  • Place in a refrigerator until completely set.
  • If Making up custard, make and set aside to cool, I used ready made this time.
  • Melt the chocolate, place broken chocolate in a heat proof dish and place over some simmering pre boiled water.
  • Peel the little oranges and pat with a piece of kitchen towel so not to wet for the chocolate.
  • Remove the chocolate from the heat.
  • Place a few spoonfuls of chocolate in the silicon moulds , (I made 10).
  • Dip the oranges into the chocolate very quickly as the are cold they make the chocolate set quickly.
  • Once everything is completely set add the custard on top of the set jelly.
  • Place the double cream into a bowl and whisk with and electric whisk until thick and creamy.
  • Arranges everything on the trifle, custard first, then cream then the chocolates.

About the Sherry-

Celebrate with Harveys 

The New Year is fast approaching, so embrace this time with a celebration. Gather family and friends to greet the New Year and share a special moment with Harveys Bristol Cream and these stylish serves.

Start the celebrations with a bang by creating the lavish yet simple Harveys’ Cup. Pop ice and a slice of lemon into a highball, add Harveys Bristol Cream and top up with pink lemonade to make the perfect party drink.

When the party is in full swing and midnight is approaching raise a toast to the New Year with a Harveys’ Spritz. Add one part Harveys Bristol Cream to an ice filled wine glass topped with premium Prosecco and for an extra-stylish flair pop in a twist of orange. Stir gently and toast to new memories this New Year.

Aside from the festivity and celebrations, Harveys can be enjoyed on any occasion, so for more ways to enjoy a Harveys Half Hour visit the Harveys website –Harveys Half Hour.

Harveys Bristol Cream is widely available across the UK. The 75cl RRP is £9.41

About this post-

I got sent a bottle of Sherry to make and share my favourite Christmas recipe. I was not paid for this post and all thoughts are my own honest opinion.

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Run Mum Run