Over 40 style | Fitness | Food | Family..Lifestyle Blog ...

Tuesday, 6 December 2016

Bikes Through The Decades With Halford's...


How quick has this year gone by!? Christmas is now just around the corner. The children are nearly a week into their Advent Calendars and the countdown is on for the big day. As usual we are thinking of last minute gifts. Me and Hubby have also started reminiscing about Christmas presents that we did or didn't receive. We both agree that one of the all time classic presents is a child’s first bike.

Can you remember your first bike? My first one was a beautiful shiny blue bike with a bright pink elephant on the seat, a 3 wheeled trike!! In fact my Mum and Dad still have it in their shed after all these years!! How cool.


My all time favourite bike as a child though, was the ultimate style classic from the 70s; The Chopper.
Share:

Sunday, 4 December 2016

Roald Dahl Curtain Collection...


Over the last few months; I've been very busy giving the house a makeover before Christmas. First up I ripped out old kitchen cabinets and added new pine shelves. Which I then stained black. They felt like they took forever... Also I have also giving my daughters room a brand new makeover.


Before I started, her bedroom was painted baby pink and she was always stuck for room to move around. Being the smallest room in the house she did not have much spare room to play in with her bed, wardrobe, shelves and drawers in. Now she is at secondary school she needed plenty of  space to do her homework. It was time she had a loft bed with a table underneath to create a bit more floor space.
Share:

Thursday, 1 December 2016

The World's Best Dining Experiences...


We, like you I am sure love to eat out. There is always something special about having someone else cook your meal. Even if it is just the fact that you don't have to do the dishes! Usually though, the chance to try some fine dining cooked by a professional chef, is mighty appetising. Imagine the most delicious foods being served at the most amazing restaurants in the world, with the most breath taking views. Sounds appealing? Read on....

Today I am sharing some of the very best of these experiences from all around the world. Bookatable have compiled a 3-part series listing and explore some of the world’s most extraordinary dining experiences


WackyRestaurants_V1_5-01

Share:

Thursday, 24 November 2016

The Night Before Christmas: Aldi Throw And Cushion Review...


T'was a cold dark evening, on the night before Christmas. All was quiet in the Claire Justine household. A good job too as it was nearly midnight and Santa would soon be on his way! It had been a long day and still Mum and Dad had lots to do before Christmas morning...


Share:

Sunday, 20 November 2016

Vintage Suitcase Turntable From Aldi..


Anyone who reads my blog may know by now, I love Aldi's Specialbuys! 😍

Every Thursday and Sunday in-store, Aldi gets new products in. All at great prices. There are new and exciting items in each week and as always; once they are gone, that is it! They are gone.

They are getting some lovely things in over the next few weeks that make great Christmas presents. I had been after a record player for ages now so I was really excited to get the chance to review a vintage suitcase turntable that will be in store on Thursday 24th November.
This could be the perfect gift for the techie in your life, who loves retro things and music🎜🎝🎜🎝🎜🎝. 
Share:

Tuesday, 15 November 2016

Bring On The Cold!


A few weeks ago I received an email to tell me Blacks & Millets are working alongside brands such as The North Face and Berghaus on their new season jackets. Their range include the stylish Thermoball & Stormcloud ranges. Some great brands and lovely warm coats then. Excellent.


They kindly asked me if I would like to pick one of their coats and take part in their new campaign; Bring on the cold!
Share:

Saturday, 12 November 2016

Aldi's Christmas Lights And Decorations...


One thing I hate about Winter are the long dark nights. When my children get home from school it is already turning to dusk. Just a quick change of their school uniforms, a run to the park with the dog. Then it's time for a shower, tea time and bed. Not much time for fun.


This is why we all look forward to Christmas so much. Some festive cheer at the most depressing time of year. There is something magical about a house, with decorations, lights, tinsel and a little bit of Christmas spirit. It makes my heart glow with warmth. Although that might be the Baileys?! I think without Christmas we would all hibernate till Spring!!
Share:

Wednesday, 26 October 2016

#GBBO Showstopper Challenge...


Are you like me and most of the Country it seems, a fan of the Great British Bake Off? Have you been baking along with this years show? Usually when watching it, I crave cake. Not tonight as I have made this yummy cake. Perfect for a Bake Off Final!!


To celebrate the final episode, I have teamed up with A O at ao.com to take part in their Show Stopper Challenge. The theme for the final GBBO is a Royal Bake Off. So my cake has a Royal theme. Think Victoria sponge cake with a coco twist.
Share:

Tuesday, 25 October 2016

Sparkly Dresses For The Party Season..


Morning lovelies..

Are you looking for a pretty sparkly dress for the party season? Just recently Quiz Clothing released a new line of Going Out Dresses for AW16, and kindly asked me if I would like to take a look, with a view to me picking out my favourite party dress to review.


Have you ever shopped here before?  We have a Quiz Clothing shop in our town and I am a big fan. I have always loved their window displays as everything always looks beautiful. I always thought though that the shop was more for the younger generation and might be overpriced. When you venture inside I realised there is something for all ages and the prices are no where near what you would imagine them to be. You can pick up some really nice items for day or evening wear.
Share:

Thursday, 29 September 2016

Aldi's Cycling & Pro-Cycling Ranges; Now In Stock..


For anyone that is not aware; every Thursday and Sundays Aldi have a brand new range of Specialbuys products in-store. They cover almost everything ranging from baby and toddler, home and garden to technology. All at great prices and when they are gone, they are gone!

Today's Specialbuys are Cycling & Pro-Cycling ranges. They have a full range of clothing and accessories to keep you warm and safe when out and about on your bikes this Autumn/Winter.


 I am a big fan of getting out on the bike; the only reason I have not been to the gym on my bike lately is that my pump had broken. It is so hard trying to cycle when you tyres are not fully pumped up.

Have you ever tried riding a bike when the tyres need pumping?

 It is like cycling through treacle. Although I have never tried cycling through treacle. I can imagine it is like that! At least if you fell off it would taste good!!

Getting nowwhere fast

I will be down to Aldi over the next few days to check out their high pressure pump that they have coming in store today for only £14.99!


They also have a great range of Winter clothing for wearing on your bike rides, gloves, socks, lights, bike stands, a Garmin edge and a cool fluid turbo trainer for riding your bike indoors on dark night! 

I am loving the range and Aldi kindly sent me some of their clothing to try out.
Share:

Tuesday, 27 September 2016

After Eight Bakes: Brownies..


On Friday we got sent a lovely parcel of baking things to make some yummy cakes from After Eight.

They asked us if we would like to take part in a fun baking challenge: After Eight Bakes. I got to choose which of their recipes I would like to recreate; cheesecake, brownies or white choc mousse?


Decisions, decisions! I love cheese cake but we all love Brownies, so brownies it was!
Share:

Thursday, 22 September 2016

Strive Footwear New AW Collection : Review...


A few weeks ago Strive Footwear got in touch with me to see if I would like to review a pair of shoes from their new Autumn/Winter collection. 



I have been a big fan of this brand ever since I reviewed a pair of their health and wellness sandals back in May. I must have worn my tee toe post sandals, almost every day since. The sandals are so comfy and I can walk for miles in them, with no pain or rubbing from. They have been my go to pair of sandals all Summer.
Share:

Thursday, 1 September 2016

What I Wore : 20th Wedding Anniversary...


Happy Thursday lovelies...

How is your week going? 

It has been a mad busy week here, shopping for back to school things. Just my daughters school shoes and bag left to buy, then we are finished!

On Tuesday evening me and my husband went out for a meal to celebrate our 20th Wedding Anniversary. It was a beautiful evening. The sun was shining brightly, we could not have timed it better for a nice walk out.  Just the two of us was so lovely. A rare date night out. I also got to wear my lovely new dress that I had been sent to review.


Change your mind about something?

Last week House Of Fraser got in touch with me to see if I wanted to review one of 3 pretty dresses. This was the only one in a size 10, so I choose this one.
Share:

Monday, 8 August 2016

Brantano Shoes Review : Creative Mondays...


Happy Creative Mondays everyone!!

Hope the Summer Holidays is going well!? Busy here, not much time to blog!! All good fun :)

A few weeks ago Brantano kindly asked me if I would like to pick out a pair of  their ladies sandals or shoes to review.


As I have enough different shoes and sandals for Summer I thought I would pick some nice and comfy work shoes.
Share:

Thursday, 4 August 2016

MORE THAN Pledge To Play More?


‘Advertorial’

Hello everyone!! How is your Summer going? Good I hope!!

We are out and about most days, seemingly walking miles. It is always nice to go walking, especially on a Sunny day in the countryside.  Mollie our Border Collie enjoys the extra walking too.

Like most dogs She loves walkies!! 


Mollie is very good at time keeping and around 8am and 2pm she starts running around, jumping at the door and giving out sweet "take me to the park" looks at anyone who walks by her.
Share:

Thursday, 7 July 2016

Oasis Chelsea Floral Skater Dress : House Of Fraser ..


Happy Thursday! Hope your having a good week so far? The weekend is almost here...

I am looking forward to this weekend as my Husband has promised to take me out for a date night!! We might as well make use of my older two Sons free babysitting, before they go back to Uni. Plus it will be an excuse to dress up.


Everyone enjoys a good night out. My two eldest are full of stories of nights out, proms, parties and more parties.!!

We never had anything like a Prom when I was at school!! A roller disco or teacher supervised school dance was about it!!

The only time I remember a reference to Proms was in movies such as Grease. Rather like trick or treating for Halloween it is a American influenced modern phenomenon. That is no bad thing as far as we are concerned as my older Boys both have fond memories of their school prom nights. My younger two love Trick or Treating.!


Share:

Monday, 20 June 2016

How Do You Handle A Compliment? Creative Mondays Blog Hop...


Happy Monday everyone. Hope you've had a lovely weekend?

Creative Mondays is my favourite blog hop of the week as I get to see all your amazing creative ideas. Link up, have fun reading other posts on the hop and please be kind enough to link back to the hop in your post.


In a recent survey commissioned by George at Asda, they found out that 41% of women feel unsatisfied with their body shape, and only 13% of women find compliments about their body shape to be believable. 

I think we can all find something we don't like about our bodies, especially as we get older. I could easily write a list of things I would like to change. If somebody does pays me a compliment though, I would be smiling all day and believe them ;)
Share:

Tuesday, 7 June 2016

Horrible History Break At Butlins..


We have just come back from a fun filled week at Butlins Skegness. All as part of my Butlins Ambassador role. We got the chance to try out a Horrible History themed break. Perfect for Spring Bank Holiday. The only thing during our week, which was not perfect however, the weather! Although as it turns out, if you stay at Butlins, come rain shine or gale force winds the fun really never stops!!

Read on...


We decided to travel by train. So a nice early walk to the station was needed. Everyone up with a smile, with a spring in their step? Not likely!! After a few tantrums (mainly the Hubby;-) we are on our way. A few hours after getting up we arrive in Skegness to be greeted by the Jolly Fisherman.
Share:

Thursday, 19 May 2016

Strive Footwear Review...


A few weeks ago I was kindly asked by Strive Footwear, if I would like to try out a pair of their new premium Health and Wellness sandals. Strive sell functional, healthy footwear and they are the World’s leading foot heath care supplier to the medical market.

Think fashion meets comfort. They sell a lovely range of sandals proven to correctly support your feet with Biomechanical Footbed Technology.


I picked a lovely pair of black patent tee- post sandals. I thought these would go well with everything I wear this summer. As long as the rain stays away.
Share:

Wednesday, 20 April 2016

Fitbit Blaze Review...


Last week Currys/PC World asked me if I would like to review the new Fitbit Blaze. I have always wanted a Fitbit, as my Husband has a Fitbit Charge and loves tracking his steps. (Also boring me with his stats!!) So being offered a newer, fancier model than Hubby has, was brilliant! Thanks..


Unboxing the Fitbit. The first thing you notice is that they have taken a leaf off Apple with premium packaging. Everything from how the box opens, to the little folders for setup guide, charger etc. screams quality. It makes you believe you have a premium product right away.
Share:
© Claire Justine | All rights reserved.
Blogger Template Designed by pipdig