Showing posts with label Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Reviews. Show all posts

Sunday, 17 August 2014

Sunday Runday : On A Mission Week 2 And A TomTom Tester...


Phew What a week!! 

This has to have been one of the hardest weeks of the holidays so far. Trying to get just an hour of 'me time' to exercise was nigh on impossible! Not only are all 4 children off school (with oldest home from uni) my husband was off work too. Stress!! 5 to look after...

Days out, a few nights away and a really poorly eldest son. My eldest son caught tonsillitis 2 weeks ago and is still not well. The Doctors have been appalling. Will leave my thoughts on that for another post!! 

In between all of my stress, I did manage a few runs, for that quick as a flash hour I became me again. I had an extra incentive as I had a new toy to review..


I was so excited and very lucky to be picked by The running bug , (a website where I log all my running training) and TomTom to test out one of the runner cardio watches. This watch is a all new TomTom Runner Cardio and has a built-in Heart Rate Monitor. So you do not need to wear an additional strap on chest. Brilliant.. Even though I have been a little lazy since the children broke up from school, I was really looking forward to getting out with my new watch.



Here is a little YouTube video of my new watch..


As a runner one of my favourite things to do is track all my runs, looking back on the courses I have been on, the pace I have run, the miles I have logged. I become a stat nerd! It is a great way of seeing how you progress and has provided useful information for when I have done my marathons. What the new runner cardio does is the usual I have used before, but also lots of new features.

The built in heart rate monitor is brilliant. I have had them before with a strap across your chest, they never seem to work properly. This is spot on, finds your pulse instantly. When looking through your stats it tells you which of your heart rate zones you have been working in. Fat Burn, Recovery etc. This is a great way of seeing if you are working too hard or too easy. You can set up the watch to do intervals so run for say 2 minutes fast 1 minute slow. Program it to do a set distance, set time or set pace. Even challenging a previous run and course you have done. Excellent, I have a new running buddy. Another feature which I am hoping will prove useful (when I have time) is that it also works on the treadmill in the gym. Normally I have had to add this manually to any running log site. You can do the run on the treadmill and adjust distance run if slightly off. This means all my runs are tracked on one device a first. Fantastic..


How lovely and stylish does this watch look?

I love the look of it and it feels nice on the wrist.

I found putting the watch onto the computer lead a little fiddly at first, it was hard to pull the watch back off the dock. There is a technique to it. Practise and patience I need to tell myself! The watch itself is nice and easy to set up I went for a run but noticed I did need to downloaded the software first. Toptip Read the quick start guide it is there for a reason. so I went home and simply downloaded the software. Once properly set up I went out for another run and the GPS was spot on. Perfect.


One extra thing I have noticed is how quickly the watch finds the GPS signal. From when I close the front door and select run, check laces the watch is ready to go..

Over the new few weeks I will be testing out the TomTom cardio watch. Please pop back next Sunday and see how I am going with my training and how the watch is helping me meet my goals...


Monday~

3 miles run

Tuesday~

2.75 miles run once before I set up my TomTom (faster run,ha)
2.75 miles run after I set my watch up..

Wednesday~

4 miles run

Thursday~

3.76 miles

Friday~

Away~ lots of walking

Saturday~

Away~ lost of walking

Sunday~

Stressed~ maybe I should run but I am too worried about my son...


Do you use a GPS watch to track your runs?

Which watch do you use?

About this post-

I got sent A TomTom watch to test out and review

All thoughts are my own honest opinion and I did not get paid for this post ...

Thursday, 7 August 2014

Place Sandals Review...



As you may know I love my footwear and was pleased to be asked by Place Footwear last week if I would like to try out a pair of their sandals. A new range of sandals which have hidden orthotic technology to naturally realign your feet & improve posture. They sounded great so I picked out this lovely pair of flat sandals with shimmering diamanté sparkles. Perfect for adding a bit of class to my outfits on my walk home from the gym!?!



About the Place sandals
  • The new range of sandals which have hidden orthotic technology to naturally realign your feet & improve posture. 
  •  This helps to reduce aching feet, legs, knees & lower back pain, all of which are associated with badly supporting footwear. 
  •  They come in some classic colours and even with a bit of bling!  They are also great at preventing future foot & posture problems & general muscle fatigue. 
  • Designed by Langer who have been manufacturing foot orthotics in the UK for 34 years, Langer decided to use their experience and proven clinical biomechanical principles to design a shoe with an orthotic in the footbed as customers rely on their orthotics but struggle in the warmer weather to fit them into their summer footwear, they just don’t fit !
  • Beautiful Ibiza brings a sparkle to every occasion, glamorous yet comfortable, these stunning sandals include a full leather lining with diamante detailing. 
  • This luxurious upper is built around our unique contoured sole unit with BFT Technology– carefully crafted to provide gentle biomechanical correction and exceptional pronation control. 
  • This advanced foot support, is perfect for everyday wear and incorporates features to minimise foot fatigue all while improving posture, balance and body alignment.
  • Price £55.00
  • Sizes available 5,6,7,8,9 


My thoughts on the sandals

I quickly opened the parcel to see what the sandals looked like. The sparkles were the first thing I noticed and how pretty they looked. Now time to try on.. They feel firm on the bottoms, supportive around the arches with a nice snug fit around the tops. The inside of the sandals having a little elastic on, making it easy for your feet to slip in and out. They felt comfortable from the outset with the sizing being spot on. I have been wearing these non stop and they feel great. In summary :- No need to bed in, Stylish, Comfortable, Snug. They adjust to your foot shape straight away, promoting a natural foot strike. I will update in a couple of months to see how they react to long term use. Certainly for now, Highly Recommended.


About this post-

I got sent these sandals to review.

All thoughts are my own honest opinion and I did not get paid for this post ...


Wednesday, 6 August 2014

Bop It Beats! From Hasbro Gaming : Review ...


Bop it!
Spin it!
Scratch it! 
Flip it!
Reverse it!

My daughter and I have been having lots of fun testing out the new Bop It Beats game this week, from Hasbro Gaming. How cool is this DJ style turntable? The principle is the same as the original games, with a whole new makeover and musical twist.





As you may have guessed from the picture above, we are big fans of all the Bop it games. Having 4 children ranging from 9 to 20 years old, they all have enjoyed fun bop it games over the years. Mum and dad always love joining in with the fun too!!

Everyone used to argue whose turn it was, my eldest son being the first to clear the original Bop it. We often ended up buying more than one of each model to save on tantrums!

The new Bop It 'Beats' is so much fun, think original Bop it crossed with a fun DJ style twist. The aim of the game is still the same, to see who can get the highest score by following the instruction being told. The music plays and you are the DJ.

Start the game by hitting the bop it button on the side. Nicki Minaj music ,'Pounds the alarm' starts to play. Then follow the instruction being shouted out.

Bop it!
Spin it!
Scratch it! 
Flip it!
Reverse it!

As the game goes on the difficult level increases. There are 5 game modes~Classic, Classic Party, DJ, DJ Party or Remix. To change the games, slowly turn the turntable before you start, to choose which one you want to play.

Classic game

Starts off nice and easy, then the speed increases and the reverse and repeat commands are added.

Classic Party game

Same as the classic game but you can have more players, simply pass it over to your friend when the command says so. Perfect for a party game!!

DJ game

This is a game of memory, follow the instructions he will tell you the moves and you don't start until he says go!! This is such a fun game on the memory!! Aww it gets harder as it goes on too..

DJ Party game 

The Dj game you can play with friends. Pass it over on command ...

 Remix game

Freestyle mode, have fun practising all the modes, flipping it and seeing the Bop it light up...

Me and my daughters favourite game is the classic and DJ party games, so we can play together. I ended up waiting for my 4th child to have one who just enjoys playing, not caring if they win or lose. Fun is the name of the game. If my boys are reading take note?! Hubby too...

To change the level simply press the bop it button to turn the turntable around slowly to pick a new game.


About Bop it beats
  • Bop It! Beats game combines the classic Bop It! game with songs by your favorite musical artists.
  • Spin the turntable to win in the all-new Bop It! 
  • Beats game. Bop It! Beats is just like the classic game you know and love but with a funky hip-hop twist. Choose from five game modes and move fast to keep up with the action. Spin the disc clockwise, scratch it up, or reverse and spin the turntable when the game commands it. Go solo or gather some friends to see who's the real musical master. You can also co-operate and try to beat a high score together! With music by famous artists in the mix, and lots of challenging difficulty levels, Bop It
  • Beats is rockin' fun from start to finish. 
  • 5 game modes.
  • Classic, Classic Party, DJ, DJ Party or Remix.
  • Difficulty levels increase as the Classic and DJ games progress.
  • For kids aged eight and up.
  • Not suitable for children under 3 years old.
  • 1 or more players.
  • 3 x AAA batteries are required.
  • Batteries included.
  • Price £21.99



About this post-

I got sent this Bop it Beats for review.

All thoughts are my own honest opinion and I did not get paid for this post ...


Thursday, 31 July 2014

Helene Berman Classic Pea Coat From Gray And Osbourn Review...



A few weeks ago I was asked by Gray & Osbourn if I would like to review something from their Autumn/Winter collection. I was happy to be sent a sneak preview email of what will be arriving in their on-line boutique next season. The collection looks great and this lovely Helene Berman classic pea coat caught my eye straight away. 

Every Autumn I like to treat myself to a new coat, something that is going to last the distance. Being worn each day throughout the Winter. It has to be good quality, a great style and a colour that will go with almost everything. I love this Navy coat, I think the colour is very versatile and goes with my outfits that I will wear this Autumn and Winter.

I pictured this coat looking very stylish with fitted jeans and long boots. Perfect for looking casual and stylish for the school run and days out shopping. Also great for wearing over dresses for nights out. I was right, it does look great with everything.





About the Helene Berman classic pea coat from Gray & Osbourn
  • This iconic, military-inspired coat comes in a luscious blend of rich wool and sumptuous cashmere for a refined appearance and wonderfully soft touch. 
  • Authentic double-breasted front, crested silver-tone buttons, front pockets, long sleeves with buttoned tab trims and buttoned half back belt.
  • Dry clean.
  • 68% Wool, 17% Cashmere, 15% Polyamide. 
  • Fully lined: Acetate.
  • Product available in sizes: 10, 12, 14, 16, 18, 20.
  • Colour ~ Navy
  • Price £199.00

A perfect addition with jeans for the school runs and dresses for shopping and nights out.





What I think about the Classic Pea Coat

I really like this coat, Navy is strongly becoming my new favourite Autumn colour. The coat feels so stylish and very high quality. 

I am a size 10 and was advised that this style can be slightly slim in fit, and I was recommended to go a size bigger. I would say not to go a size bigger and choose your true size in this coat. This size 12 feels so big, definitely a full bodied 12. I am sure the size 10 would have been a perfect fit? (not sure if you can tell from the picture with the buttoned up front? but it sticks out at the back). 

 No worries though, it will come in handy for the winter when lots of jumpers are required. As it is too big I prefer it open for a classy look. 

About this post-

I got sent this coat for review.

All thoughts are my own honest opinion and I did not get paid for this post ...


Sunday, 27 July 2014

What's In My Bag : Dash Beach Bag Review...

The weather is amazing and I am so looking forward to taking the children to the beach. Yesterday the post man delievered me this lovely raspberry stripe tote bag from Dash to review. 

A perfect sized bag for what I would need.

 Not to big, so you can find things quickly and not to small, so you can fit just enough in. 

This bag will come in very handy for a day out to the beach.





What's in my bag?

Everything for a day at the beach.

Sun cream, jelly sandals, towel...

Phone, camera, money...

and train tickets..


I packed my bag straight away, with my essentials for a day out to the seaside. Whoops forgot the sunglasses in the picture!! being on my head!!

Now my bag is all packed, I can not wait to go to the beach with the children.

About the bag
  • Raspberry Stripe Tote, a classic pop of colour for every ensemble.
  • With navy pu trims and durable canvas straps, this beach bag is the ideal summer accessory.
  • Finished with a cotton lining and zip closure.
  • Fabric Detail: 100% Canvas 
  • Wash Inst: Wipe With Damp Cloth 
  • Style: Tote
  • Was £19.00 now £12.00

What I think of the bag

It is a nice medium size bag that fits all the above in perfect. I like the fact it has a zip along the top so nothing can drop out. It fits nicely over your shoulder without hanging down to low. There is no inside pocket, which is a shame as I like to put my phone or purse inside a pocket for easy access. The first thing my 17 year old son as was "is your bag designer?" I could tell he thought it looked nice and expensive. Loving the pattern, it is very stylish. I think it is a great buy for only £12.00.

About this post-

I got sent this bag for review. All thoughts are my own honest opinion and I did not get paid for this post ...

Thursday, 24 July 2014

Mastershoe-myshu Sandal Review...



 Children have broken up from school, for the holidays. A whole 6 weeks of summer fun ahead! We are now busy planning days out, trips to the beach and a holiday at the seaside. Come September I will be worn out.


With all the walking that I will be doing, my feet will need plenty of pampering to keep up with the rascals. One thing I love to wear in the summer holidays weather permitting are sandals.

They have to be ~ flat, COMFY, rub free and look good, all rolled into one.

With this in mind I was excited to be sent some new leather, flat sandals to try out.


How sweet does the flowers look?

 A few weeks ago I was introduced to a brand I had not heard of before Mastershoe-myshu who asked me if I would like to review a pair of their Oxygen sandals. After taking a look at the sandals. flat, comfy, sweet design all came to mind.






About Mastershoe-myshu
  • Mastershoe-myshu is an online/high street footwear retailer.
  • They stock the top high street brands at very competitive prices.
Oxygen - Charlotte - Red - Womens
  • This fabulously feminine flip-flop with rustic leather flowers and string toe-post with flexible plastic casing is a great essential for any sun seeker. 
  • With its contoured cork footbed and thick man-made outsole, the Oxygen Charlotte offers great all day comfort. 
  • Complete with Oxygen branding to the footbed, and logo on the side strap this design is sure to draw the right attention.
Colours available
  • Khaki
  • Brown
  • Red
  • Tan

Oxygen Charlotte - Size Conversion
  • UK 3 - Euro 36 - US 5.5
  • UK 4 - Euro 37 - US 6.5
  • UK 5 - Euro 38 - US 7.5
  • UK 6 - Euro 39 - US 8.5
  • UK 7 - Euro 40 - US 9.5 
  • UK 8 - Euro 41 - US 10.
Price 
  • £34.99


When I put the sandals on I noticed they felt a little strange at first. Maybe the ridge around the sides felt a little different? After about 10 minutes of wearing them around the house, they started to fell slightly different. Possibly starting to mould to the shape of my feet? They were comfy from the outset.

During the next few days I wore them on walks to the shops, around the house etc Essentially using them as an every day slipper in the house. After my initial feelings that they were an unusual fit, I need not have worried as they have slowly adapted to my foot shape, becoming like a second skin.

Being leather they have not rubbed or cut my feet (which is great as new sandals usually do).
I have worn them enough now to know they are a great all-round sandal possibly the best I have ever owned. Would just to love to try them on a beach any beach. If my hubby reads this please take me on holiday soon.!

I think these sandals are perfect for the summer they are comfy having very good support. I found the sizing to be accurate, no need to go slightly under or over your regular size.

Topping them off they are my favourite colour too.


About this post-

I got to choose a pair of sandals the point of this review. All thoughts are my own honest opinion and I did not get paid for this post ...

Sunday, 13 July 2014

Veetee Recipe Ingredients Box...



Earlier this week I received a parcel with some fun ingredients to make up a recipe using some Veetee rice and fresh vegtables. The ingredients box contained 3 packets of Veetee rice (that is ready in under 2 minutes), 3 peppers, a few chilli's, chorizo sausage, coconut milk, sweet and sour chill sauce a egg time and 2 cool serving dishes.

As we are not to big a fans of chilli's, especially after a eating them raw competition my oldest 2 sons had last year, so I changes a few of the ingredients around.

This is what we cam up with~

Stuffed Peppers
  • 3 Peppers
  • Teaspoon olive oil
  • Salt and pepper
Filling
  • 2 tbs Olive oil
  • 1 Medium onion (chopped)
  • 100g Mushrooms (sliced)
  • 100g Chorizo sausage slice and cut into halves
  • 2 packets of Veetee egg fried rice

Method
  1. Preheat the oven to 180C/350F/Gas 6.
  2. Cut the peppers into half, scoop the seeds out, cut stalks off, rinse and place onto a baking tray.
  3. Drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and black pepper. 
  4. Place in the oven and cook for 15-30 minutes (depending on how you like your peppers cooked) or until soft.
Making the filling
  1. 10 minutes before peppers are cooked make the filling.
  2. In a frying pan heat the olive oil over medium heat.
  3. Add the chopped onions, mushrooms and chorizo sausage.
  4. Fry for around 6 minutes.
  5. Add the 2 packs of Veetee rice and fry for another 3-4 minutes.
  6. On a severing plate take out the peppers and fill with the fried rice and vegetables.
  7. Sever with left over fried rice.


About Veetee rice

  • Veetee rice is available to buy at Tesco RRP £1.49 a pack.
  • Each pack severs 1 as a main 2 as a side dish.
  • Microwave or stir fry. 


About this post

I got sent some ingredients for the purpose of the post. I was not paid and all thoughts are my own honest opinion..


Thursday, 10 July 2014

LEGO Lord Of The Rings Pirate Ship : ASDA Direct Review...


The lovely people over at ASDA Direct asked me if I would like to review something from their summer toy selection. My 11 year old son loves to build things with Lego being his favourite toy at the moment. I decided to choose him a nice Lego surprise as he is always helping me out round the house.

I picked him out this LEGO Lord of the Rings Pirate Ship as I know how much he loves watching the films with his big brothers.

Last week, bless him when trying out his new school I got a call from the teachers to say he had been taken to hospital as he had cut his knee and needed stitches. Long story short, he is fine, but with swelling etc needed to stay home from school.

His first day at home, upset and feeling very sorry for himself, a delivery what could it be?  What a lovely surprise and great timing!! It was the Lord of the Rings pirate ship. 

When I took it into the room to show him what I had, a great big smile appeared, I knew he had teeth!

A few moments later, he was shuffling himself onto the floor and starting to set up ship!!

Every couple of hours he kept going back to it until he had finished building it. (About 4 hours in total) Which he spread out over 4 days to complete it all.

My son has really enjoyed making The Lord of the Rings Lego pirate ship this week.

He set it up himself with the easy to follow instructions. He only had one mad tantrum when he pushed a piece too hard, breaking the decking. (time for a quick break) He soon got back into it after a rest and some lunch.









About the LEGO Lord Of The Rings Pirate Ship

On the shores of Minas Tirith, Sauron's Mordor Orcs prepare to greet their allies aboard the Pirate Ship ' but all is not as it seems. Pull up alongside them, drop the anchors and lead a surprise attack with Aragorn, Gimli, Legolas Greenleaf and the Army of the Dead.

 This majestic Corsair ship features 3 large sails, removable rear section with dungeon and Pirate of Umbar prisoner, firing crossbow and loads of armor and weapons! Capture the Orc catapult and lead the glow-in-the-dark King of the Dead and his soldiers into battle at the War of the Ring!



Includes
  • 9 minifigures with weapons and accessories: Aragorn, Legolas Greenleaf, Gimli, 2 Mordor Orcs, the King of the Dead, 2 Soldiers of the Dead and a Pirate of Umbar.
Price

£89.99


Overall

A great Lego set. Whether fan of LOTR or Pirate ships in general. Well made as you would expect, some of the detail on the mini figures is superb. The ship and all the little extras: catapults, maps, weapons etc. make this a great addition to any Lego fans collection.

ASDAs website sells a wide range of goods including loads of toys. You can have them delivered to home or your nearest store. Which is handy. I had home delivery it was quick and hassle free. Highly recommended.


About this post:

 I was asked to choose something from the ASDA direct summer toys range for the purpose of the review. I was not paid for this review and all thoughts are my own honest opinion...


LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

40+ style

Shoe love

Run Mum Run