Over 40 style | Fitness | Food | Family..Lifestyle Blog ...

Tuesday, 24 January 2017

Philips #HealthyHabitSwap...


{Philips #HealthyHabitSwap review/campaign}.


My New Years Resolution goals are going surprisingly well.

I am really enjoying running again and love working out at the gym when I have some spare time. I particularly love the spinning classes. Getting to push yourself really hard, knowing you have had a good workout once you have finished.

Running is very slowly but surely starting to feel easier again, just my pace I want to work on now. I want to knock off 5 minutes on my Parkrun time this year. To get back to my PB; Which was one of my goals for last year, but that is a whole different story!! 

Being part of a running club definitely helps to push myself more. 
Share:

Tuesday, 17 January 2017

Philips Health Watch Review..


I did not make any New Years Resolutions this year. No point really as I never stick to them. I just made a promise to myself to try and be more active. Get to the gym more, keep up my running and try to avoid the sweets in the cupboard. Sounds perilously close to a resolution then!! This way though I won't feel so guilty if I do not keep my promise!! Crafty...


Most of all; My time management needs work. There never seems to be enough hours in the day. If I can manage my family, dog, house and blog, it should leave me plenty of time to exercise. Right!?

Where's that personal organiser?
Share:

Tuesday, 6 December 2016

Bikes Through The Decades With Halford's...


How quick has this year gone by!? Christmas is now just around the corner. The children are nearly a week into their Advent Calendars and the countdown is on for the big day. As usual we are thinking of last minute gifts. Me and Hubby have also started reminiscing about Christmas presents that we did or didn't receive. We both agree that one of the all time classic presents is a child’s first bike.

Can you remember your first bike? My first one was a beautiful shiny blue bike with a bright pink elephant on the seat, a 3 wheeled trike!! In fact my Mum and Dad still have it in their shed after all these years!! How cool.


My all time favourite bike as a child though, was the ultimate style classic from the 70s; The Chopper.
Share:

Sunday, 4 December 2016

Roald Dahl Curtain Collection...


Over the last few months; I've been very busy giving the house a makeover before Christmas. First up I ripped out old kitchen cabinets and added new pine shelves. Which I then stained black. They felt like they took forever... Also I have also giving my daughters room a brand new makeover.


Before I started, her bedroom was painted baby pink and she was always stuck for room to move around. Being the smallest room in the house she did not have much spare room to play in with her bed, wardrobe, shelves and drawers in. Now she is at secondary school she needed plenty of  space to do her homework. It was time she had a loft bed with a table underneath to create a bit more floor space.
Share:

Thursday, 24 November 2016

The Night Before Christmas: Aldi Throw And Cushion Review...


T'was a cold dark evening, on the night before Christmas. All was quiet in the Claire Justine household. A good job too as it was nearly midnight and Santa would soon be on his way! It had been a long day and still Mum and Dad had lots to do before Christmas morning...


Share:

Sunday, 20 November 2016

Vintage Suitcase Turntable From Aldi..


Anyone who reads my blog may know by now, I love Aldi's Specialbuys! 😍

Every Thursday and Sunday in-store, Aldi gets new products in. All at great prices. There are new and exciting items in each week and as always; once they are gone, that is it! They are gone.

They are getting some lovely things in over the next few weeks that make great Christmas presents. I had been after a record player for ages now so I was really excited to get the chance to review a vintage suitcase turntable that will be in store on Thursday 24th November.
This could be the perfect gift for the techie in your life, who loves retro things and music🎜🎝🎜🎝🎜🎝. 
Share:

Tuesday, 15 November 2016

Bring On The Cold!


A few weeks ago I received an email to tell me Blacks & Millets are working alongside brands such as The North Face and Berghaus on their new season jackets. Their range include the stylish Thermoball & Stormcloud ranges. Some great brands and lovely warm coats then. Excellent.


They kindly asked me if I would like to pick one of their coats and take part in their new campaign; Bring on the cold!
Share:

Saturday, 12 November 2016

Aldi's Christmas Lights And Decorations...


One thing I hate about Winter are the long dark nights. When my children get home from school it is already turning to dusk. Just a quick change of their school uniforms, a run to the park with the dog. Then it's time for a shower, tea time and bed. Not much time for fun.


This is why we all look forward to Christmas so much. Some festive cheer at the most depressing time of year. There is something magical about a house, with decorations, lights, tinsel and a little bit of Christmas spirit. It makes my heart glow with warmth. Although that might be the Baileys?! I think without Christmas we would all hibernate till Spring!!
Share:

Thursday, 29 September 2016

Aldi's Cycling & Pro-Cycling Ranges; Now In Stock..


For anyone that is not aware; every Thursday and Sundays Aldi have a brand new range of Specialbuys products in-store. They cover almost everything ranging from baby and toddler, home and garden to technology. All at great prices and when they are gone, they are gone!

Today's Specialbuys are Cycling & Pro-Cycling ranges. They have a full range of clothing and accessories to keep you warm and safe when out and about on your bikes this Autumn/Winter.


 I am a big fan of getting out on the bike; the only reason I have not been to the gym on my bike lately is that my pump had broken. It is so hard trying to cycle when you tyres are not fully pumped up.

Have you ever tried riding a bike when the tyres need pumping?

 It is like cycling through treacle. Although I have never tried cycling through treacle. I can imagine it is like that! At least if you fell off it would taste good!!

Getting nowwhere fast

I will be down to Aldi over the next few days to check out their high pressure pump that they have coming in store today for only £14.99!


They also have a great range of Winter clothing for wearing on your bike rides, gloves, socks, lights, bike stands, a Garmin edge and a cool fluid turbo trainer for riding your bike indoors on dark night! 

I am loving the range and Aldi kindly sent me some of their clothing to try out.
Share:

Tuesday, 27 September 2016

After Eight Bakes: Brownies..


On Friday we got sent a lovely parcel of baking things to make some yummy cakes from After Eight.

They asked us if we would like to take part in a fun baking challenge: After Eight Bakes. I got to choose which of their recipes I would like to recreate; cheesecake, brownies or white choc mousse?


Decisions, decisions! I love cheese cake but we all love Brownies, so brownies it was!
Share:

Thursday, 22 September 2016

Strive Footwear New AW Collection : Review...


A few weeks ago Strive Footwear got in touch with me to see if I would like to review a pair of shoes from their new Autumn/Winter collection. 



I have been a big fan of this brand ever since I reviewed a pair of their health and wellness sandals back in May. I must have worn my tee toe post sandals, almost every day since. The sandals are so comfy and I can walk for miles in them, with no pain or rubbing from. They have been my go to pair of sandals all Summer.
Share:

Monday, 20 June 2016

How Do You Handle A Compliment? Creative Mondays Blog Hop...


Happy Monday everyone. Hope you've had a lovely weekend?

Creative Mondays is my favourite blog hop of the week as I get to see all your amazing creative ideas. Link up, have fun reading other posts on the hop and please be kind enough to link back to the hop in your post.


In a recent survey commissioned by George at Asda, they found out that 41% of women feel unsatisfied with their body shape, and only 13% of women find compliments about their body shape to be believable. 

I think we can all find something we don't like about our bodies, especially as we get older. I could easily write a list of things I would like to change. If somebody does pays me a compliment though, I would be smiling all day and believe them ;)
Share:

Tuesday, 7 June 2016

Horrible History Break At Butlins..


We have just come back from a fun filled week at Butlins Skegness. All as part of my Butlins Ambassador role. We got the chance to try out a Horrible History themed break. Perfect for Spring Bank Holiday. The only thing during our week, which was not perfect however, the weather! Although as it turns out, if you stay at Butlins, come rain shine or gale force winds the fun really never stops!!

Read on...


We decided to travel by train. So a nice early walk to the station was needed. Everyone up with a smile, with a spring in their step? Not likely!! After a few tantrums (mainly the Hubby;-) we are on our way. A few hours after getting up we arrive in Skegness to be greeted by the Jolly Fisherman.
Share:

Thursday, 19 May 2016

Strive Footwear Review...


A few weeks ago I was kindly asked by Strive Footwear, if I would like to try out a pair of their new premium Health and Wellness sandals. Strive sell functional, healthy footwear and they are the World’s leading foot heath care supplier to the medical market.

Think fashion meets comfort. They sell a lovely range of sandals proven to correctly support your feet with Biomechanical Footbed Technology.


I picked a lovely pair of black patent tee- post sandals. I thought these would go well with everything I wear this summer. As long as the rain stays away.
Share:

Wednesday, 20 April 2016

Fitbit Blaze Review...


Last week Currys/PC World asked me if I would like to review the new Fitbit Blaze. I have always wanted a Fitbit, as my Husband has a Fitbit Charge and loves tracking his steps. (Also boring me with his stats!!) So being offered a newer, fancier model than Hubby has, was brilliant! Thanks..


Unboxing the Fitbit. The first thing you notice is that they have taken a leaf off Apple with premium packaging. Everything from how the box opens, to the little folders for setup guide, charger etc. screams quality. It makes you believe you have a premium product right away.
Share:

Sunday, 17 April 2016

Desk to Drinks Challenge With House of Fraser...


Last week House Of Fraser asked me, if I would like to take part in a fun fashion outfit challenge. Share an outfit that can be dressed down for the office and yet can also be styled up for a night out : The Desk To Drinks Challenge. (Just in case you go out then out out!!)


As part of the fun challenge, I got to choose one of their beautiful prom dresses to share how I would style it.
Share:

Tuesday, 12 April 2016

Running Gear : This Weeks Aldi's Specialbuys...


I am a big fan of Aldi's Specialbuys products. One thing I always keep a look out for, is their running gear. Over the last 10 years I have purchased a lot of my running apparel from them. T-shirts, fitness leggings, jackets, headbands, gloves, socks etc.


The reason I keep an eye out for them coming back in-store, is the products are always high quality, yet at really affordable prices. Last week Aldi got in touch with me to see if I would like to review some running gear that  will be available to buy this week. (Thursday 14th April). I was really pleased to get a preview of what will be coming out and get chance to take some for a test drive.

Share:

Tuesday, 5 April 2016

Nutri Advanced Superfood Plus‏..


This week Nutri Advanced have just launch their new Superfood Plus:

"The formulation that not only blends some of the most sought-after vegetables, fruits and supplements – including enzymes to support digestion, ginger, cinnamon, turmeric , green tea and reishi mushroom – but it also contains Chocamine®, a patented, standardised cocoa-based ingredient that has no fat, sugar or caffeine. The only sweetener is a touch of stevia." 

They kindly sent me some of the Chocolate SuperFood Plus and Vanilla UltraMeal powders’ to try out.

Vanilla and chocolate... These are coincidentally my favourite flavours!!, especially in smoothies and milkshakes. How yummy!


Drinking smoothies instead of my plain sandwiches for lunch, sounds like a fun plan to me!  Especially as the Sun was shining so beautifully, (for a change!). I was inspired to make a summer fruit smoothie with the UltraMeal Vanilla.

Share:

Thursday, 24 March 2016

Joseph Joseph Compact Food Container Set Review...


I have been admiring Joseph Joseph product from a far, for a while now. Everything on their website look beautiful, colorful, practical and quality. I was really please when they contacted me to see if I would like to pick something from their website to review. 



Before they got in touch I didn't actually own anything. I did had a wish list the length of my arm though. I have read a lot of good thing about them from other blogs and I have been dying to try out their products. One of the things on my wish list was this Compact food container sets. 
Share:

Tuesday, 22 March 2016

Aldi Spring Summer Cocktails...


Aldi has created a lovely range of Spring/Summer cocktails and kindly got in touch to see If I would like to have a go at making some. Yummy, how nice!

Spring is the air and it is time to start planning some tasty cocktails for the lighter evenings on the garden with friends and BBQ weather.


I love cocktails. Especially tasty ones that have alcohol and fruit inside them.
Share:
© Claire Justine | All rights reserved.
Blogger Template Designed by pipdig